Does the Word ‘New’ Bring Hope or Cause Anxiety?

newDoes the word ‘new’ make you feel renewed or of new expectations, diagnoses, and anxiety? Kerryn shares.

“You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness” (Ephesians 4:22-24).

Do you have times where God puts a word on your heart? Usually it’s something that’s important for growth or to learn about in a deeper way.

For a few weeks I’ve had one word over and over again, as I sit with God.

It’s not a big word, but it’s brought big insights for me and has changed my attitudes and thoughts.

New!

Take a moment to ponder “new” for yourself. What do you think about?

Tension arrived when thinking of new purchases, as I have multiple chemicals sensitivities (MCS). This requires a lot of time and thought put into washing, airing out and waiting for the chemicals to disappear.

Excitement soared when I thought of new ideas, insights and directions. It brought a fresh bubbling deep into my soul and being.

Then a sigh arose when I thought of new diagnoses.

Oh what a joy to read all that is in God’s word about new, which is mentioned around 150 times, depending upon the version.

One of my favorites is 2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” (Italics added.)

So, where does all this take us?

God will lead each one, reading this, into new and different avenues to each other.

For me, it was relatively simple. I was tainting the word “new” with the difficulties, tensions, and illness responses that occur in my body. This was building barriers when God wanted to open me up to something new in my life.

What new possibilities will God bless us with, as we are “made new in the attitude of your minds?”

Prayer: Lord, help me “to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” Remind me when I taint things with problems from my illnesses. Help me to come to You with fresh new eyes. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What revelations came to you, as you pondered the word “new?” In what ways have your illnesses tainted new possibilities? How can you allow God to change that?

Todd Vaders, maybe you know him, maybe you don’t but I promise you by the time you are finished listening to this song, “Stay Right Here,” you will want to hear more from him. He wrote this song when he was enjoying the beauty of God’s creation at the foot of Pike’s Peak in Colorado. God can create all things new, you and I, to the mountains and the oceans. Relax in this. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Does the Word ‘New’ Bring Hope or Cause Anxiety?

  1. Great devotion Kerryn 🙂
    Your word “new” reminded me of a word I used to hate “change” because like your “new” word, “change” usually meant something bad or worse for me. But lately I’ve been trying to embrace the word, and I see you are doing the same with new 🙂
    Blessings.

  2. Thanks Karlton. 🙂

    Hmmmm…… I think I cope better with the word “new” than “change!” Will need to reflect on that obviously.

    It was interesting timing when this came out, as hubby & I had just prayed about God’s clarity on a possible “new direction” that’s pretty big for us. EEEK! Suddenly I had to relook at my attitude about the word “new”….. again! Isn’t that like God to do that. Lotsoluv Kerryn

    • When we have set routines that help us to stay afloat with our illnesses, both ‘new’ and ‘change’ can throw us into a tail spin. I pray God blesses you and your husband in the new direction you take.
      Blessings.

Leave a Reply

