I’m Enough Even Though I’m Sick

enoughNo matter how much you may know your salvation doesn’t rely on your works, do you still struggle when life is on hold? S.L. shares.

“But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me” (2 Corinthians 12:9).

I got sick. Again. It seems like I struggle though one illness just to catch another. It’s one of the joys of living with chronic illness because my body just can’t fight off what other people can.

I get jealous because I can’t do what other people who don’t struggle in this way can. I wish I could do more, but I just can’t. People who knows me understand my frustration at not being able to make a bigger difference.

In spite of this, I have a really full plate. So full, in fact, I really don’t know how I am doing it all. There is no reason I should be able to other than God’s grace. I don’t have strength to do anything on my own.

That is why I think, sometimes, God taps me on the shoulder when I get sick. Again. . . and again.

I have an alarming tendency to find my value in what I do rather than in Christ alone.

“My grace is sufficient for you.”

I was working on my book this week and the particular passage I was writing was, ironically, the thing I struggle with the most: living in grace. The words jumped off the page at me when I started coughing.

I can’t. God can.

I’m weak. God is strong.

I’m not enough. God is.

I can’t ever do enough to make me valuable. Even healthy people can’t. We’re enough because He is enough.

When I keep trying to do things out of my own power, it cheapens God’s grace. I am acting like it wasn’t enough. So completely wrong.

Call it a silver lining, but being sick is a good reminder to live in grace. God’s grace is sufficient and it’s not dependent on our ability. I’m so grateful.

Prayer: Dear God, thank You so much for giving us grace through the death and resurrection of Your Son, Jesus Christ. Please help us learn to walk in grace and find our value in You and learn to see ourselves as You see us. Help us to remember to focus on You especially in our illness. Amen.

About the author:
S.L. Payne lives in North Carolina with her husband, three biological sons and foster daughter. She has had fibromyalgia since she was a little girl, but is thankful for God’s faithfulness. She loves writing, photography and laughing with her family. She just launched her brand new website uncommongrace.net where she hopes she can encourage others to live in grace.

If you are perfectly honest, what do you find your value in? Do you think God might be using some trial in your life to help you refocus on Him?

This is Christian musical artist, Jason Gray, who deals with a speech impediment, as he talks about how our weaknesses and struggles “hyper-qualify” us because God can really use us. Jason has some great songs we have shared in the past and will continue to do so, but today, I think his message to you in words, rather than a tune, will encourage you. Hope you take a few minutes to listen. -Lisa

One thought on “I’m Enough Even Though I’m Sick

  1. S.L., are you spying on me? 😉 This is SO me this month. It’s so hard, and I’ve struggled so mightily to believe that He is enough, and I am enough in Him. Thank you for this encouragement. It has blessed me so much. Heart Hugs, Shelly ❤

Leave a Reply

