Celebrating Easter Joyfully Even When We Don’t See Christ

easterJesus may feel absent in our lives at times, but just as the resurrection shows us, He is there. S.L. shares.

“They asked her, ‘Woman, why are you crying?’ ‘They have taken my Lord away,’ she said, ‘and I don’t know where they have put Him?’ At this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing there, but she did not realize that it was Jesus” (John 20:13-14).

I’ve always loved that I was born on Easter. It has such significance for me because it is the celebration of what is most significant thing in my life. It actually is my life. Without Christ’s death and resurrection, I would be nothing without His grace.

I haven’t always felt like this though. When I was first diagnosed with fibromyalgia at 18, my life felt a lot more “pick up your cross” than “new life.” I spent a lot of time crying over what I had lost. I know this is typical of the grieving process after a chronic diagnosis, but still . . . I was having a hard time putting my faith in God.

Ironically, these are the times when we don’t really see Jesus. We can be so lost in our grief that we don’t notice all that He is doing–all the beautiful, glorious, amazing things. No one else has the power to transform us, to save us, to give us hope and joy.

Like Mary in the garden before she recognized Jesus, it is easy for us to feel lost and alone. But with Christ, we have every reason to be joyful because He sacrificed Himself to offer us grace. All suffering will end thanks to His gift of life, if we choose to follow.

Even when we don’t see Christ, He is there working His plan. Imagine the fear and uncertainty the disciples had while Christ was in the grave! Now, it can nearly seem funny since we know the incredible outcome. Likewise, Easter reminds me that God is worthy of my faith even when it seems hopeless because He is Hope Himself.

There is so much more joy in celebrating my spiritual birthday on Easter. No matter what our physical state, let’s celebrate!

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father, thank You so much for sending Jesus to die for our sins and paying the price so that we might be forgiven. You are the Giver of Life and Sustainer. Help us to remember You work on the cross and to help us celebrate joyfully all year long. Amen.

About the author:
S.L. Payne lives in North Carolina with her husband, three biological sons and foster daughter. She has had fibromyalgia since she was a little girl, but it thankful for God’s faithfulness. She loves writing, photography and laughing with her family. Her blog is The Proverbs 31 Project at adventuresofaneverydaygirl.blogspot.com where she hopes she can encourage others.

How has Christ’s death and resurrection impacted you? Have you chosen to follow Him and celebrate joyfully?

I grew up listening to the Gaithers and the song “Because He Lives” is still one of my mom’s favorites–which means it always holds a special place in my heart and is my favorite “Easter” song. When my son was a baby it was the lullaby I sang to him at 3 AM and it is still the song that comes to my mind when I need some hope to cling to. I hope this video blesses you. The beginning may seem a bit old school, but stick with it as it builds and I am sure you will find hope through the music and the message. Because He lives we can face tomorrow! Happy Easter! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

