When God Gives You More Than You Can Handle

I am unable to get online for a devotional Sunday (today). Please accept this previously posted article. Perhaps God will use it in the precise way He intends today. Bless you, Lisa

By Lisa Copen, this is a reprint from http://thinkingaboutsuicide.com where Lisa is a contributor. The web site is a good place to turn during those rough days to help you remember that God cares about you and is here beside you even when you don’t feel like it.

Over and over I have heard the saying, “God doesn’t give you more than you can handle.” But what about the pain. . . the grief. . . the depression. . . the darkness? It is more than we can handle. Much more. There are days that we wonder is life worth living if we have to get up every day and fight to be strong? We look enviously at others who seem to not struggle and wonder why God seems to bless those that can handle so little, and curse those of us who are so strong.

As I have dealt with the physical and emotional losses since my twenties when I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis, I have heard this cliche answer from the stranger at the store to my pastor who was grasping to instill encouragement at my hospital bedside.

Have you noticed how people ask, “So, how are you?” and no matter how badly things are, and how honest you may be with them, their answer is, “Well, God doesn’t give us more than we can handle”? In other words, buck up! Hang in there! Find something to get your mind off of it. Get out of the house. Don’t worrybecause God doesn’t give us more than we can handle.

It feels like they are saying, “Obviously you aren’t handling life’s challenges nearly as well as I am.”

Let me tell you something that may come as a surprise. God does give us more than we can handle. Every day He may place us in the position where the pain is too much to bear. Why? Because we were never meant to do this life without Him! He gives you more than you can handle–but not how much you and He–together–can handle.

Hebrews 13:5 tells us, “Never will I leave you, never will I forsake you.” And Philippians 4:13 reminds us that we were not created to do this life on our own. We can do all things through Christ who gives us strength. We do not hae to be strong on our own.

There will be days when you may wake up and think, I can’t do this. I cannot keep living this way. Why is life worth living if I can’t meet the expectations of others or even myself? I cannot figure out how to get rid of this darkness that haunts me.

There are no simple answers, except to speak to God about it. You were designed to need to turn to Him a million times a day. God does give you more than you can handle because you were never meant to handle it.

In the video below, vocal artist Matthew West, speaks to a young girl who has experienced 13 surgeries due to one car accident. Her mom tried to encourage her by telling her God wouldn’t give her more than she could handle. Her response–and her journey–became the inspiration for song, “Strong Enough,” which is also included in the video.

Lisa Copen has lived with rheumatoid arthritis for nineteen years, and has found purpose in her pain by reaching out to others with chronic illness. Her organization, Rest Ministries, serves those with chronic illness or pain through daily devotionals and other programs.

Enhanced by Zemanta

3 thoughts on “When God Gives You More Than You Can Handle

  1. Our God is so good! Know that He did use this today to help me greatly! It is 1pm here and I’ve had about an hour of sleep broken up in 15min intervals since the night before last. My pain has continued to get worse with each hour and as I got ready for church this morning I wondered if I would be able to make it out the door. Thankfully God did give me the strength to do that and He even gave me the strength to stand for one song. As our guest pastor prayed my thoughts we scattered but all kept coming back to, how much more can I endure? Not just the physical pain but all the things that surround it, sometimes it can seem like we can’t possibly go another minute never mind a whole day. But as I read this I was reminded again like God so often reminds me, that His promises include HIM! Like you quoted above from Philippians 4:13, it is through Christ that we get the strength to endure all things, not ourselves! Thank you so much for this reminder, it has brought me great peace and comfort! Oh and thank you for the song! I love this song and listen to it especially when I am in a lot of pain but I never knew the story behind it! Thanks for sharing it!

  2. Pingback: No plan is perfect « Living Life As I See Fit

Leave a comment