A Message From The Swallows

swallowsHow does God speak to your needs? Fiona shares about the swallows.

“How lovely is Your dwelling place, O Lord Almighty! My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the Lord; my heart and my flesh cry out for the living God. Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young–a place near Your altar, O Lord Almighty, my King and my God. Blessed are those who dwell in Your house; they are ever praising You. Selah” (Psalm 84:1-4).

Recently I was away for a few days and my bed faced a window on the verandah that overlooked the lake. We’d seen lots of kangaroos, some wedge-tailed eagles, and numbers of smaller birds from the verandah or area around the house.

After another pain filled night, the morning came. I didn’t really feel like getting out of bed–but knowing others would be wanting to get going soon–I knew I should.

Only that one morning of the three we were there, did I see swallows flying in and out of the verandah outside my window. I guess I was aware of them, because they have such unique flight patterns.

As I started to drag myself to the “awake” phase–I reached for my Bible to read–part of my morning routine. That day I had reached Psalm 84 in my reading through the Psalms.

Verse 2 seemed to be one I could identify with–my soul did yearn for God and my heart and my flesh were still conscious of more pain than usual.

But verse 3 was about swallows! Now that made me take more notice–what was God wanting to say through both the visual and Biblical image of swallows that day?

That in God’s presence is safe–the swallows have no need to be concerned, they are safe.

Then in verses 11 and 12, we’re reminded God is a sun and shield–blessed is the man who trusts in Him.

I love how God gives us visual connections to remind us of His words and promises, to direct our thoughts back to Him–back to His presence, where we are safe.

Getting out of bed that day, I was praising God–and thankful for His sparrows bringing this reminder.

Prayer: Thank You God that you provide us with a place in Your presence, that promises safety and shelter. Thank You for hearing our cries when we struggle. Your care comforts and amazes me, just as the myriad ways you choose to remind me of it. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

When has God given you a visual reminder of His care, or His promises to You? Did it help the promise stay in your mind more?

This is the group Unspoken singing “In Your Hands.” The acoustic version below is a quiet, sweet reminder that we can leave everything at the Lord’s feet and find comfort. The lyrics remind us that we can give him our weariness,mour sickness, our losses and griefs and out the day in His hands, Hoping you enjoy this song that touched my soul. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

