Giving Grace When Our Illness is Questioned

imageWhen feelings are hurt can you offer grace or do you hold onto resentment? SL shares.

“Grace, mercy and peace from God the Father and from Jesus Christ, the Father’s Son, will be with us in truth and love” (2 John 1:3).

A friend asked me how I was doing when another person in the conversation stared at me in shock. He couldn’t understand that someone who looks young and healthy could be so sick. He decided it was his job to explain that this is going on because of generational sin and that all I needed to do was break those bonds and I’d be fine . . .

I’m sure most of us have had conversations like this.

This is why we all need to be expert theologians. I’ve decided it is an occupational hazard of being ill Christians.

I don’t think the conversation went like the guy thought it would. He started laying out his credentials and clearly thought that he was far more knowledgeable than the girl he was trying to instruct.

I honestly did feel like shoving my credentials down his throat for a minute, but ultimately I know that isn’t what Jesus would see me do.

Grace.

Grace changes things. It is through grace that we can deal in truth and love.

I explained that biologically this isn’t true, nor is it scriptural. God uses everything and to insist that He wants us to be healthy and prosperous is flat out wrong and damaging. The original Greek text is even more convincing than the English.

While we don’t feel like it a lot of days, I think we’ve been called to be ambassadors for Christ on this level. The grace of God is far bigger than just making us happy. We can’t conquer this lack of truth without love otherwise our message is easily written off.

This is more than not being not being understood. We can’t let our wonderful Savior be misunderstood! His saving grace is worth so much more than simply making us happy and healthy.

Prayer: Dear Heavenly Father, thank You so much for caring more about our relationship than my happiness. Help me see that You are constantly pulling me to You and please help me be able to communicate Your truth to those who don’t understand. Please help me be loving in my delivery of Your truth. Please be glorified in me. Amen.

About the author:
S.L. Payne lives with her husband, three permanent sons and foster daughter. She is thankful for God’s faithfulness in her illness as God has used to it help her see Him in everything; the three boys have supplied the humor! She loves writing, photography and laughing with her family. She also writes on her website, uncommongrace.net, where she hopes she can encourage others to live in grace. You can follow her on Twitter @saralynnpayne.

Have you ever neglected either truth or love in a conversation like this? In what areas could you do a better job incorporating both into your life and relationships?

When our feelings are hurt, it can eat away at us. The only true freedom we can receive is by forgiving. This is Jason Gray singing “Forgiveness Is A Miracle.” Did you know Jason has a stutter, though you cannot tell by his singing. When he sings of forgiveness, I am sure he has had his own experiences with choosing to forgive those who judge him due to his own challenges. Hugs. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

