Will I Ever Reach My Goals?

goalsDo you feel overwhelmed by the goals you set when your illness interferes? Maria shares.

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up” (Galatians 6:9).

For the second time this spring, now that winter is safely past, I find the weather just warm enough to sit outside on the front lawn. The greening grass reminds me that soon I’ll be able to plant my little garden–once I get somebody to turn it up for me, that is!

There are certainly things I like about spring, like how it is nicer for sitting outside than winter. Minus summer’s risk for heat sickness, I do have one minor pet peeve, however. I’ll soon be planting the garden and this means I’ll have to tend to it and weed it. It will be a time yet before I’ll see any little green shoots. Longer yet before I’ll taste any of its vegetables.

In the same way, I’m at a point in my life where I’ve graduated high school, but I’m still a ways away from graduating college. I haven’t even formally started the program yet, for that matter.

Most likely your “vegetables” are different from mine. Maybe it’s taking a special trip that floats your boat (cruise, anyone?). Or something more simple, like taking yourself to a doctor’s appointment or to church.

Either way, waiting to “reap your harvest” can get pretty frustrating. It’s easy to find yourself ready to throw in the towel and forget the whole thing. It’s at these times when we must remember that just as I’ll eventually taste those garden vegetables, sooner or later, in this life or the next, we’ll eventually “taste” the success of our goals.

About the author:
Maria Moores lives in a small town in southern Manitoba (Canada) with her Mom and her cat, Baleigh. Maria lives with myalgic encephalomyelitis, also know as chronic fatigue syndrome. She is often amazed at God’s brilliant plan she sees playing out daily in her life.

What “vegetables” are you waiting to ripen?

Maria shares that the inspiration for this devotional came from the song “In the Bulb There Is a Flower”, also known as: “Hymn of Promise.” Hoping it blesses you today. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

