Thanking God for the Little Things

thanking-godHow does the habit of thanking God for His provisions change our attitude about coping with life’s challenges? Julie shares.

“The Lord has done great things for us, and we are filled with joy” (Psalm 126:3).

For much of my weekdays, I am alone in the house. Even though I am the only one present, anyone observing would hear a lot of conversation going on. Mostly by me . . . to me. Yes, I do talk to myself more than I should. But a lot of my audible conversation is directed toward God in thanking Him for the little things He has done for me.

I make it a habit to thank God out loud for blessings when I am doing simple tasks. For example, when I am curling my hair I try to think of things I am thankful for that day. If someone could actually hear me, they might think it rather odd, but I audibly say things like, “Thank You, Lord, for the ability to get a nice hot shower every day. Thank You for my warm, soft bed. Thank You that I have people who love me for who I am. Thank You for medicine that helps me feel better.”

Then, during the day, whenever I am grateful for something, I again just look to Him and say “thank You.” If you make a habit of thanking God out loud, you will realize just how many wonderful blessings you do have in your life.

During this season of Thanksgiving, it is especially important to remember that thanking God for His blessings shouldn’t be a once-a-year occurrence.

I Thessalonians 5:17 says, “Pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances.” Praying continually does not just mean bringing our requests to God and constantly asking for His help. It also means thanking God on an ongoing basis for everything He provides for us. When you do this, it puts a joy in your heart because you are concentrating on the good things in life, and not just ruminating over the bad.

Prayer: Lord God, You are awesome! You have given me countless things to be thankful for, more than I can even recall. Lord, today I thank You for ______. In Jesus precious name, Amen.

About the author:
Julie Buckley was diagnosed with mixed connective tissue disease in 1995 (scleroderma, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus and polymyositis) along with fibromyalgia. She lives in the midwest with her husband and has a grown son. She also has a blog site called “Healthy Souls,” which encourages Christians to grow stronger through their physical weakness, http://jabuckle.wordpress.com/

What little things can you thank God for that you had not thought of previously? What daily task can you turn into a time to thank God for His blessings?

We get so busy asking God for whatever we don’t have that it is our natural instinct to forget to thank Him for all the little things. This is Chris Tomlin and Phil Wickham singing “Thank You God For Saving Me.” When was the last time you thanked God specifically for your salvation? Take time today in the midst of the chaos of the weekend. Love you… Lisa

Leave a Reply

