Validation From A Game Or From God?

Do you spend more time competing with yourself or friends on games rather than at the Lord’s feet, soaking up His unconditional love for you? Fiona explains.

“The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” (Zephaniah 3:17)

I was feeling pathetic. Even though physically things were not as bad as they often are, I was feeling bogged down by the emotional struggle life can be at times.

I was feeling lousy and sick of feeling so tired that its a struggle to do just the things I have to do, to look after myself. Yet, what was I doing? How bad was it that I’m wasting time playing games on the computer?

How sad that I’m feeling good when the computer tells me I’m “awesome, excellent, or spectacular” just because my brain happened to be alert enough to achieve a good score on something that doesn’t really matter anyway.

Isn’t it just escapism to try and numb the feelings I don’t want to face–to try to distract myself from my problems, or even my fears.

Wouldn’t it be better if I was spending that time, reading about someone who always thinks I’m awesome, even when I don’t seem to achieve much at all. God doesn’t love me because of anything I do–He just loves me.

He doesn’t see me as pathetic–even when I feel that way–I’m made in His image and God doesn’t make junk. I might be broken physically, or emotionally, yet God sees me as whole.

I might feel useless, but God sees me as useful–someone He can use, if I’m willing, even in the little things.

So many times it seems hard to drag myself out of the emotional hole I’m in–yet God promises to pull me out of the pit. The verse above from Zephaniah, reminds me that God takes delight in me, He will quiet my emotions with His love and sing over me, rejoicing in who I am.

Now that’s got to be better than a computer telling me I’m awesome!

Prayer: Father God, thank You that You validate me as someone You love and take delight in. Help me and those reading these words, to know they are loved and valued by You–even during the times when we feel pathetic. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Do you find yourself using things like computer games to distract you from thinking about life and the problems you might be facing? Do you still believe God thinks you are awesome?

This is a beautiful song with Jamie Grace, “Come To Me” that reminds me of the scripture on which Rest Ministries was founded, Matthew 11:28. God is standing right here with us, saying, “Come to Me.” And yet, sometimes we respond, “Just a minute, Lord, I am kind of busy right now. Let me finish this next level/project/thought/sentence/chore and then I will be right with You.” Enjoy this song and the lyrics and just. . . come to Him. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

