Recognizing I am Not Alone in My Illness and Imperfections

alone3Although we may compare ourselves to others and think they surely have conquered things we still struggle with, Beckie reminds us that none of us have it figured out.

“No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can endure it” (1 Corinthians 10:13).

The time change and the spring season bring many good things. The winter months are cold and dark, and darkness can hide the mud. I am blessed to live on a dirt road in the Midwest. The thaw of a last-minute snow and the downpour of rain have not been easy on “Her.” She, in turn, has not been easy on the local traffic.

When I go on an outing and park my car, I tend to notice the outline of where my car has been parked! At times I park somewhere else so that it isn’t as obvious! It seems that my car is the only one that leaves an outline of mud on the asphalt.

I tend to feel embarrassed. What do people think of me and my muddy car?

This evening I pulled out of the marked parking place and it was still daylight. I noticed in the light what I had not seen before–there were other marks of mud! Almost every single empty place near the building has some form of mud ring or another. Suddenly I realized I am not alone.

Do you feel alone in your illness? Do you feel like you are the only believer still struggling over past mistakes?

Perhaps you feel like everyone else has it “together” and that they are noticing your “mud.”

As spring begins, may the light of Christ welcome you into the special place of knowing you are not alone in your walk with Him and you are not alone in your illness. The dark of night might have hidden it for a time. See today that you are not alone!

Often I look at others and think “They aren’t struggling. They are already perfect.”

My “mud ring” reminds me that I’m not perfect and that I’m a work in progress. Seeing that I’m not the only one with a “mud ring” is comforting because I realize, I’m not alone.

It also reminds me that someone else may be feeling like they are struggling through a season alone, and that maybe they need the comfort of knowing someone else is praying them through!

Prayer: Lord Jesus, I feel alone sometimes. It often seems like I’m the only one with imperfections or health issues. Thank You for reminding me that I am not alone! You alone are perfect and You promised to be with me. Thank You that because of Your work on the cross, I have hope! Give me the grace to share that hope, even in the midst of my own struggles. Amen.

About the author:
Becky Elie lives in the Midwest and enjoys spending time with family. She was diagnosed with tuberculosis (TB) while teaching in Asia and is well after many months of medication and God’s care. She is learning that it is in her weaknesses that God’s strength is made known. Becky enjoys painting, photography, and learning more about living for Christ.

Do you feel alone in your illness? Do you feel like you are the only believer still struggling over past mistakes? Have you take the time lately to share your Hope with someone who needs it?

Leave a Reply

