When is “NOT” Answer Enough?

notWhen God seems to not give us an answer it means we must trust the timing of His answer as much as what it will reveal.

“The Prophet Elijah stepped forward and prayed; ‘Lord, the God of Abraham, Isaac and Israel, let it be known today that you are God in Israel and that I am your servant and have done all these things at your command. Answer me, Lord, answer me . . .'”

As we walked toward the elevator, my husband looked at me smiled and said, “I can tell you’re not pleased with what the doctor said.” He was right.

We wre at a renowned teaching hospital and I was walking away with much the same answer as I’ve had in the past six years, what my illness is not. Ugh! I was so sick of hearing that word.

Yes, I appreciate the elimination process, but as we made the long drive home, knowing we would be returning again, I prayed, “When will the time come, Lord, that I can hear the words, “it is”?

I can imagine the zealousness Elijah would have expressed the above scriptural words, “Answer me, Lord. Answer Me!”

I’m sure many of you have felt the same. The long road we often must take to receive a diagnosis can be hard, but this was what God, in His still quiet tone, reminded me of:

You are not lost. “He tends His flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in His arms and carries them close to His heart” (Isaiah 40:11).

You are not alone. “Do not be afraid: do not be discouraged, for the Lord your god will be with you wherever you go” (Joshua 1:9b).

You are not spiritually bereft. “In the same way the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us….” (Romans 8:26).

You are not condemned. “Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” (Romans 8:1).

Yes, my friends, “not”can be enough indeed!

Prayer: Father, as each of us walk the paths You have put before us on this earth, please help us not to forget all the many promises You have given us. That when it is with You, all that You are in our lives “not” can truly be a wonderful prefix to who we are growing to be, for Your plans and purposes. May we honor You with our very breath we take. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata, lives in central Florida, she is blessed to have three grown children, and a wonderful husband who is also her caregiver in those difficult times of illness. She is a cancer survivor, but continues to deal with many digestive and neuropathic issues. She loves art, writing. He desire is to continually be an encouragement to others; looking daily for those “God ordained opportunities” to share His love and truth with others.

Are you struggling with the “not”in your life? Would you like to share those? What has God enabled you to see through His eyes in how “not” in Him is enough?

One thought on “When is “NOT” Answer Enough?

  1. Hi Sue I read this devotion just now, after reading your last email and struggling with not knowing what to say because I can’t alleviate your physical pain (I would if I could). I pray that altho God is NOT easing the pain as quickly as we’d like, that He’d reassure you that He’s walking with you in it. I’m sure you can identify with Elijah’s,  “Answer me, Lord, answer me.” love, Melanie

    From: Chronic Illness Pain Daily Devotionals To: melanieehodges@yahoo.co.uk Sent: Thursday, 12 May 2016, 14:04 Subject: [New post] When is “NOT” Answer Enough? #yiv0493595788 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0493595788 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0493595788 a.yiv0493595788primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0493595788 a.yiv0493595788primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0493595788 a.yiv0493595788primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0493595788 a.yiv0493595788primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0493595788 WordPress.com | Rest Ministries posted: “When God seems to not give us an answer it means we must trust the timing of His answer as much as what it will reveal.”The Prophet Elijah stepped forward and prayed; ‘Lord, the God of Abraham, Isaac and Israel, let it be known today that you are God ” | |

Leave a Reply

