Do You Fight On Your Knees Through Prayer?

kneesIt is possible to allow God to fight our battles, but how do we find the balance between doing something and surrendering the battle to God? Karlton shares.

“. . . but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint” (Isaiah 40:31).

One of my favorite music groups, Petra, has a song titled: “Get On Your Knees And Fight Like A Man.” That is a song I can relate to, for frequently my illness knocks me to my knees and that is where I too often live as a prayer warrior.

Years ago I traveled hundreds of miles away to visit with family, and by the time I signed in to the hotel I was physically, mentally, and emotionally on my knees. I had no strength left and wondered how I would survive the rest of the visit and the trip back home.

I idly picked up the Gideon’s Bible on the table and opened it randomly, and my eyes fastened on the verse above. It is the Lord who renews our strength.

We may find ourselves many times in the position of having no strength left. Without God that would be a hopeless situation, but with God we can find strength and courage to keep going. Life robs us of many things, our health, our vitality and strength, leaving us feeble and weak, but we have an Almighty God.

My frequent prayer over the years has been the simple confession to God that I have no strength left, and that if I am to move even one inch forward, the Lord will have to carry me.

Time and again He has done so. If you find yourself like me, without strength to move forward, call upon the Lord, ask Him to carry you when you can no longer carry yourself. Ask Him to lift you even on your feeble knees, to help you in whatever battle you find yourself in.

Prayer: Dear Lord, life keeps knocking us down, please help us to get back up, even if it is only to fight from our knees. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. He gets weary of fighting on his knees, but is grateful to the God who helps him to endure the vicissitudes of life.

Do you feel like you are fighting on your knees? Why not call upon the Almighty God to give you strength when your strength is gone?

Leave a Reply

