Does God See The Real Needs of Those with Chronic Illness?

real-needsIllness can demand that we have a few logistics covered in order to function and live fully. Does God see these needs? Shelly shares.

“Every valley shall be filled in, every mountain and hill made low. The crooked roads shall become straight, the rough ways smooth. And all people will see God’s salvation” (Luke 3:5-6).

We know that He is able to make our path straight . . . the path to Him. Beautiful imagery.

God and I were having a little chat the other day and He brought this verse to my mind.

Determined to hold onto my pout just a little bit longer, I explained to Him, tongue firmly in cheek, “Father, not that I don’t appreciate the straightening part, but me and this chair. . . me and this old body . . . we need handicap accessible!”

I need access with solid, smooth paths, not too much of a climb. I need bridges over water, boardwalks over sandy areas. Wide spaces to accommodate my companions along the way.

“Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God” (Romans 5:1-2).

And I heard God whisper, “Done.”

But Lord, sometimes I will need transportation. I will need elevators for the mountain trails. I’ll need power big wheels for the beaches. And so many other aids that I can’t even think of right now.

“For through Him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit” (Ephesians 2:18).

And God smiled, “Already prepared and waiting.”

How could I do anything in that moment but just bask in the wonder?

Maybe you have special accessibility needs, too? You’ll be very interested to see what God has to say about those. You won’t be disappointed, guaranteed.

Prayer: Dear God, You care so deeply, deeply enough to have already seen to the fact that nothing can separate us. Deeply enough to see to the details necessary to be accessible to a broken, weak and weary child. You long for me that much. That just blows me away. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. They live the good life in South Louisiana. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and a yet-unnamed neuro degenerative disease, among a myriad of other issues mostly stemming from these two. She had brain surgery in 2012, to install a VP Shunt, and had a revision in January 2014. Though her condition continues to deteriorate, her spirit is constantly focused on eternity. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What scriptures can you find to see that God has prepared your way to Him perfectly?

Shelly thought you would endjoy this song “Nothing Ever Could Separate Us” by Citizen Way. I loved it and hope you do too. -Lisa

