God Is Working in Our Lives, Regardless of How it Appears to Others

workingHarsh words about our circumstances or health from those who don’t see us improving almost always bring pain. Dorothea shares how she seeks God to get past the sting.

“’Neither this man nor his parents sinned,’ said Jesus, ‘but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him’” (John 9:3).

I love this answer Jesus gives. It calms my soul whenever I’m told, “You must have unconfessed sin in your life,” as a reason for my suffering.

Or when people say, “Let me pray for you because I know I have the faith to believe for your healing.”

I have to think that most of the people who judge, criticize, or pity me don’t really mean to hurt me or cause me to feel inferior, but their condescending words always hurt.

I read this passage (John 9) when I need to feel God’s peace, because it is my desire that my suffering will bring Him glory, even if it’s in a small way.

We may not be healed, but God’s work in our lives is evident when we refuse to hide our pain. Others notice how we remain faithful and trusting in spite of our hardships. And when we live life with joy and hope, the focus stays on God and not the limits of our physical bodies.

We can offer messages of God’s mercy, love, and hope through our lives.

When I hear of someone facing their pain with trust and devotion to God, it helps me hang readjust my thoughts to God’s power and goodness. When I get a fresh perspective from a familiar passage of scripture, I feel excited. It makes me want to live so that my life becomes an inspiration to someone else.

I pray that you have never been scorned or hurt because of your illness. May we have the courage to share our lives with those around us.

No matter what we face, we are never alone. God gives us the strength to get through each day, and He will use us to bless others when we allow Him to transform our weakness into His glory.

Prayer: Father, thank You for another day. Change our outlook to match Yours. Help us to live so that Your glory is continuously displayed. Give us the courage to follow wherever You lead. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in Los Angeles with her husband and family. For over 30 years, she has learned to live with chronic illness and pain by relying on God’s grace to strengthen her through each challenge. She invites you to interact with her on Facebook and to read some of her other work on her blog: http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

Have you been hurts by words, and yet is spurred you on to find comfort in God’s Word and new perspective on your suffering?

Leave a Reply

