Are You Using Spring as a Time to Refresh Your Soul?

rebirthWe know flowers are rebirthed during spring and a few of us (very few!) do a heavy spring cleaning so our house is rebirthed. But what are we doing about our soul? Laura shares.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–His good, pleasing and perfect will” (Romans 12:2).

This season reminds us of rebirth, especially as we recently celebrated Easter.

“Rebirth: the act of starting to flourish after a decline; revival.”

Flowers begin blooming in my part of the world. The snow is finally gone, grass is turning green and the birds are returning after migrating south for the winter.

It is a time of renewal.

Today is a good opportunity to take a closer look at our spiritual health. Oftentimes we are burdened with every day life while dealing with a chronic condition. Despite our challenges, do we remember to take the time to renew our relationship with God?

If you are like me you sometimes get off track. Perhaps you are waiting for an important doctor appointment; anxious about test results or trying to get in to a better routine?

There is still time to improve your relationship with God.

Do you take time out of your day to pray, read the Bible, or read a daily devotional?

I know I often become sidetracked when I set out to read a devotional or Bible passage. I may think I will pray each day at a certain time, but then something else comes along that gets in my way.

One thing that assists me, however, is subscribing to daily religious sites that I enjoy. This way information comes to my email inbox daily and I can read at my leisure. I admit sometimes I skip the information but I am trying–again–to become more disciplined in my reading.

I just completed a weekly Bible study at church on Job; but now I won’t have that structure again for several months. In the meantime I need to continue to find the time for God.

Regardless of your methods, making the time to nurture our relationship with God benefits us beyond measure.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help is to continue our quest to do Your will. Forgive us when we fail and help us to forgive ourselves. In Your name, Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband of 27 years and her three children. She is a retired elementary school counselor who currently runs a HopeKeepers group at her church. She has dysautonomia, the deregulation of the autonomic nervous system. The autonomic nervous system controls such invisible functions as heart rate, blood pressure, breathing and temperature regulation.

How do you find time for God in your daily schedule?

Leave a Reply

