God Cares for the Birds… And Me

birdsWhen we feel overwhelmed by what must be done, how can we remember God cares about the small parts of our day too? Linda shares.

Look at the birds of the air, they do now sow or reap or stow away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” (Matthew 6:26).

I went to bed last night having made a long list of things that I felt needed to be done today. The last few weeks have been rough and life is more complicated than normal but there were some things that I felt needed to happen.

I woke up this morning after a rough night thinking how am I going to get it all done. It took me longer than normal to get up, get dressed, get on my new brace, and get to the living room. By then the frustration was already taking over and I was in tears.

It may still be early spring but where I live the weather has been extremely warm and the first thing I do is open the front door. We have a large tree in our yard and lately of a morning it is full of several kinds of birds all chatting back and forth with each other.

As I was standing at the door the first thing I noticed was how nice and cool the air still was then I heard the birds. They were singing away back and forth. It almost sounds like they are talking and answering each other.

I stood there at first trying to hold back the tears, frustrated that I had just gotten up and already had used up what energy I had for the day. How was I going to get through the day, how was I going to accomplish what needed to be done with the pain and fatigue?

Then all of a sudden I am thinking I know God loves and cares for all of these birds and I know He loves and cares so much more for me. I don’t need to worry about what needs to be done. I just need to stop and trust Him to guide my day.

I poured a cup of coffee and sat down to listen to the birds and sit and talk with God. The frustration went away and I was able to refocus on what I could do, what could wait, and what I might need to ask help with.

Did I accomplish everything I had planned that day? No, but I accomplished what God had for me and I spent some valuable time with Him and enjoyed the beauty of His creation.

Prayer: Lord thank You for the wonder and beauty of Your creation. Thank You for the reminder that while You love and care for Your creation You love and care for me so much more. Thank You for the peace You gave today and help me to remember that what You have for me to do each day is so much more important than what I think needs to be done. Amen.

About the author:
Linda Aufrance lives with her wonderful supportive husband of 41 years who has walked with her through the ups and downs of living with Lupus, MS, diabetes and several other illnesses. God’s loving peace and strength has provided all she needs and her prayer is that those she comes in contact with see the grace and love of God shine in and through her.

When you start to feel overwhelmed, how do you surrender over your needs to God?

Leave a Reply

