All I Need is My Best Friend and An Iced Coffee (or Tea!)

all-i-need-is-coffee2We can spend great time and money searching out something that fulfills us, but most often God hands us little gifts that we soon realize turn into something much more precious to us than we even imagined. Laura shares.

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up” (Ecclesiastes 4:9-10).

I am thankful I can drink strong, black iced tea.

Let me explain; many with dysautonomia have high heart rates. Caffeine raises the rate even more. For me, however, my autonomic nervous system disorder caused bradycardia–a heart rate consistently under 60. That is the reason for my pacemaker; which paces my heart 79 percent of the time.

Caffeine therefore does not speed up my heartbeat.

I admit I am a Starbucks iced tea drinker. I have at least one large drink most days.

I sit today in a Starbucks near Cleveland, Ohio as a friend who I am visiting sees a new physician. We are dysautonomia buddies. We met nearly five years ago through mutual friends/relatives. At first we were Facebook friends, but after meeting in person our relationship grew quickly.

She is one of the absolute best parts of living with a chronic condition. Life would not be as fun or exciting without her. We have private jokes. We can laugh about our crazy symptoms and understand each other’s hopes, joys and fears. I wish she did not have this diagnosis but am thankful we face it together.

Today’s joy is sipping tea while waiting for her to pick me up. Yesterday we visited a different Starbucks together–talking, laughing and catching up.

Few things in life are constant. I know our friendship is one of them. Another is finding a Starbucks wherever I travel. And, of course, the biggest is knowing God walks this journey with us.

Prayer: Dear Lord, guide us as we embrace each new day. Help us to appreciate the blessings You provide. In Your name, dear Lord, Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband of 27 years and three children. She is a retired elementary school counselor who currently runs a HopeKeepers
group at her church. She has dysautonomia, the deregulation of the autonomic nervous system. The autonomic nervous system controls such invisible functions as heart rate, blood pressure,
breathing and temperature regulation.

What do you enjoy doing? If you had an afternoon with no restrictions, how would you spend your soul-refreshing time?

I loved Laura’s devotional and I hope you won’t mind me sharing a new necklace I just designed because it reflects what she says so well! I made one that says “sister” and “best friend”. Thank you for your continual prayers for myself and my family. Laura has been one of those rocks across the miles that has been especially comforting and some day we will meet at that Starbucks and be refreshed in ways that go far beyond what any drink could offer us.

Comment over to our main site and comment there and I will randomly choose a winner for any necklace from Gutsy Goodness on Friday. Our international readers are eligible as well, but you would have to pay the postage, approximately $15USD. Hope this makes someone smile… maybe even a friend of yours when you give it to her as a gift. And we have designs and keychains for you men, so join us in the comments too. -Lisa

best-friend-giveaway

Leave a Reply

