Strengthen What Remains

strengthen2Despite the weakness our body may have due to chronic illness we are not to give up but to continue to strengthen what remains. Fiona shares.

“Wake up! Strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your deeds complete in the sight of my God. So remember what you have received and heard; and keep it, and repent. Therefore if you do not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what hour I will come to you” (Revelation 3:2-3).

I woke one morning, with the phrase “strengthen what remains” on my mind.

When my thoughts are often so jumbled, why do I seem to hear just a phrase spoken? It’s God speaking, or bringing something to mind, that needs searching out to find what message there is in it for me.

I knew the phrase, but couldn’t at first place where it came from in the Bible. It’s from the letters to the Churches, in Revelation–it seemed a strange place–so what was God wanting me to learn from this?

My first thoughts on “strengthen what remains” were in context of bodies that are failing, and seemed a reminder about making good use of what is still left. The fact that God can still use us, even in our weakening bodies. He doesn’t see what we can’t do–but what we can.

The Church in Sardis was being told their deeds were not complete in God’s sight–maybe that’s a reminder there is still more for us to do for Him.

The next verse goes on to say “So remember what you have received and heard and keep it…”

I wondered if this was about our faith. Looking back over years of pain and illness, I see, and know, that it is only because I have my faith, that I’ve been able to survive. It’s still tough at times, but I’m trusting God is in control and He has a purpose for me, even in my pain.

So maybe it was about strengthening our faith–we don’t know when, but He’s coming again. Don’t live as if our lives are over and we are just waiting to be taken home eternally, to escape the pain and difficulties we now face.

Let’s wake up and be strong in faith!

Prayer: Father God, we thank You for the words we can keep coming back to in The Bible. Thank You for the different messages we find in them, at different times in our lives. Please help each one reading this, to know that no matter what is going on in life right now – we can all wake up and be strong in our faith in You. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He continues to teach her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Is there something in your life you need to strengthen just now? Do you need to see that your life is not over yet, God can still use you?

Leave a Reply

