When All Else Fails, Hold On!

hold-onWe are often give a plan of action when we are exhausted, both spiritually and physically but Kerryn reminds us that sometimes it is just about holding on.

“. . . hold on to what you have until I come” (Revelation 2:25).

There are times when being ill creates problems in every area of life. It can feel unfair, and at times I want to just scream out “I’ve had enough!”

I’m sure you’ve all been there! It’s especially hard in the middle of the night, when it’s dark and lonely and sleep is evasive.

Recently, I’ve noticed that I’ve distanced myself from the Lord with all of the problems I’m facing. If I’m truly honest, it’s like I was blaming Him for them!

I can hold a great pity party! When I’m on my own in the middle of the night I’m particularly good at it. I’m currently living away from my family while house renovations occurred to sell our house. So it’s easy to feel lonely.

Did I go to God with my loneliness and angst?

No. Instead I buried myself in scouring the internet for houses, looking on Pinterest–doing anything to cover the pain and loneliness.

Today on a ministry forum a precious pastor that understands suffering had the message “hold on” for everyone in our group. He quoted from: Revelation 2:25, 26: “But hold fast what you have till I come. And he who overcomes, and keeps My works until the end, to him I will give power over the nations” (English Standard Version).

Hold on–two simple words that gave me hope and comfort.

Jesus knows our pain and says “hold on . . . until I come!”
Jesus knows our loneliness and says “hold on . . . until I come!”
Hold onto Jesus . . . “who overcomes.”
Hold onto His “works until the end.”
Hold onto His “power” that holds us when we are weakest.
Hold on!

Prayer: Lord, I’m tired and lonely. Help me to hold onto You until You come again. Help me to remember that when I’m too weak to hold on, You’re holding onto me! Amen.</strong?

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family among the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

Have you been burying yourself in things that are keeping you away from the Lord? What does it mean practically to “hold on” to Him?

One thought on “When All Else Fails, Hold On!

Leave a Reply

