Seeking His Presence When Overwhelmed

overwhelmed2When your illness seems to multiply the challenges in your life, how do you stay focused on God’s goodness and not your worries? Dorothea shares.

“I will extol the Lord at all times; His praise will always be on my lips. I will glory in the Lord; let the afflicted hear and rejoice. Glorify the Lord with me; let us exalt His name together” (Psalm 34:1-3).

I go to the hospital for a routine procedure and return home with complications that I’m still trying to overcome. I’m just beginning to understand how bad things were, and it makes me thankful that I’m recovering.

Then, I discover an issue with the joints and tendons in my hands. I have splints, braces, and an order to modify the cushion on my cane’s handle.

I’m trying to absorb it all. How can I cut back on using my hands when I’m already so limited in what I am able do?

This is a difficult season of new challenges for me. I seek God because I feel overwhelmed by the pressure of learning how to manage, how to praise Him in faith instead of crying out in fear.

I seek the Lord for help, strength, and peace. I focus my attention on Him, and I finally feel the serenity I so desperately crave.

As I thank God for all that He’s doing in my life, the big things and the things that seem insignificant, I’m finding evidence of His care and examples of His mercy, of His hand at work in my life, even on the days when I think the pain has the upper hand.

Sometimes, I journal. It’s a tangible way for me to recall God’s presence in my life. My record of proof that He is always with me and will never leave me or forsake me.

After all these years, the Lord has never failed me. I trust Him to help me renew my mind and help me find reasons to praise Him instead of immediately sinking into fear.

Prayer: Lord, thank You for Your faithfulness. Even during our weakest moments, You understand and surround us with Your love and mercy. Renew our minds and turn our weak areas into examples of Your strength. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Norman. They are the parents of two adult children. She has lived with chronic illness and pain for over 30 years. She knows she must rely on God’s grace to strengthen her whenever she faces a challenge. She invites you to read some of her other work on her blog: http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

When you begin to feel overwhelmed about all the changes in your health or in your body, what do you cling to in order to not lose faith that God still has it all in His hands?

This is the group Fireflight singing “For Those Who Wait.” It is a bit of a Christian rock-style video and song style. I found great comfort in the lyrics of this song that describe how we must believe there is a purpose for all of those who wait. As we wait to see what God will do to redeem our illness and pain, as we try to live our life, not waiting for the pain to go away, we must recognize God’s ways are higher than our ways. Be blessed. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

