Is the Remedy You Seek for Your Illness Within Your Grasp?

remedyWhen you consider the various treatments and medications you seek to mange your disease, do you include God as the top remedy of it all? Diane shares.

“Your people will rebuild the ancient ruins and will rise up the age-old foundations; you will be called Repairer of Broken Walls . . .” (Isaiah 58:12).

Here we were, the long awaited appointment date was finally here.

As my husband and I sat there, in the huge reception room of the renowned clinic and research center, we waited for our time to see the doctor.

As we waited I observed many others as they too came–some with just a spouse or friend, others with entire families, all seeking help in some way relief, a remedy to their illness.

I’m sure, like me, they had waited many months for this day. We had prayed, of course, for God to pave the way. For Him to open the doctor’s mind and heart, granting us favor as a patient, as well as for wisdom for the oh-so-desired diagnosis. We had hopes of the restoration in my body.

After seeing the doctor we were ushered again to the reception area, waiting again for the next part–scheduling of testing and referrals to other departments.

As we were waiting we heard many others as they received their plans and schedules.

“When can you return? How long can you stay?” All were common questions.

As I listened, I thought, “Lord, do they know You? Are You walking this journey with them? Have they found the true ‘remedy?'”

As we waited, I prayed for those there. I prayed that if they didn’t know our Lord, He would make Himself real to them. I prayed for them to see that with Him we do have restoration through Christ, the one that truly heals. He heals everyone, everything, rebuilding every part of us, restoring all that is broken.

I may not see them again, but in some way, I feel God used me that day. God allowed me to join in His restoration and rebuilding of their lives, and for that I’m grateful.

Prayer: Father, as I bow my head and pray, I ask humbly for Your grace, Your restoration for each of us here. Help us, Lord, as in this world there are many illnesses and circumstances beyond our control; but with the power of Your blood and the sacrifice You gave for us all–we, Your children–have the perfect, eternal remedy. This is the gift of Your healing salvation and restoration that only You can give. We thank You, Lord, for that amazing gift. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata, lives in central Florida, she is blessed to have three grown children, and a wonderful husband who is also her caregiver in those difficult times of illness. She is a cancer survivor, but continues to deal with many digestive and neuropathic issues. She loves art, writing. He desire is to continually be an encouragement to others; looking daily for those “God ordained opportunities” to share His love and truth with others.

What is the remedy you are seeking? Can we pray with you? Is God walking that path with you? When has God given you the opportunity to share or pray for others seeking help on this chronic illness journey?

When we have asked for healing in the past and God has not answered our prayer, it can become easier to avoid the conversation with Him than to ask again and be disappointed all over. Perhaps you have heard that “God heals in different ways.” Despite it sounding like a cliche, I have found it to be true. This is the song “Change This Heart” with Sidewalk Prophets and it gives words to those feelings of needing to turn our desires and our searches for a remedy for whatever ails us over to God again and again. Hugs. -Lisa

