Discovering Winter Surprises Despite the Cold

winterWhen you consider the weather of winter do you feel dread or do you find areas you delight in? Vicki shares.

“But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find Him if you seek Him with all your heart and with all your soul” (Deuteronomy 4:29).

Students expressed their opinions about winter by where they sat. Chairs were arranged in a horseshoe. One end signified strong positive feelings. The opposite end represented strong negative feelings. Unsurprisingly, most of my second graders clustered around the positive end. Playing the devil’s advocate, I sat on the opposite end.

Volunteers took turns stating facts to support their opinions.
Students’ facts included: You can make snowmen, go sledding, and get off from school.
My facts included: You can get slip and get hurt. Driving on ice is dangerous. You have to shovel.

I gotta admit . . . I dread winter. Cleaning snow off our cars exhausts me. One winter the snowstorms were relentless. I barely had time to recover before another storm hit. One storm dumped a foot of snow. It took longer to remove.

I stopped to catch my breath and spotted at a scene that took my breath away: The sun glistened off mounds of snow.

That winter surprise propelled me to finish quickly. I jumped in my cleared-off car and set out to do a photo shoot. Some scenes grabbed my attention. Others were discovered by seeking them out. God’s beauty was found when I looked up, focused closer, and studied shadows.

We can face the winter seasons in life that way. Isaiah tells us to, “Seek the Lord while He may be found; call on Him while He is near” (Isaiah 55:6).

Seek God: look up, focus closer, study shadows. He is near.

Prayer: Dear Father, “You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek You; I thirst for You, my whole being longs for You, in a dry and parched land where there is no water” (Psalm 63:1). Help me find You when life feels so colorless and cold. Remind me of how You’ve revealed Yourself during past trials. In Christ’s name, Amen.

About the author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/
Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

When you think of winter what are things you enjoy or delight in? How can you recall these blessing when the damp hurts your bones or your car is buried under snow?

Vicki put together this 6 minutes video of a “shovel- and slip-free winter stroll” on Youtube for us! Gorgeous! -Lisa

