You Were Designed for Goodness

designedWhen God designed your life, do you think He knew illness would be part of it? Dorothea shares.

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do” (Ephesians 2:10).

Psalm 139:14 says I’m fearfully and wonderfully made. Genesis 1:31 states that God declares all of His creations good.

Yet, today’s verse challenges me. It turns my focus to God. He has something specific for me to do. Can I accomplish it? Can I make this verse a reality in my life?

I’m struggling, learning to manage new painful and debilitating conditions. Some days I’m overwhelmed by the inability to complete simple chores. I can’t imagine doing anything good enough to bring glory and honor to God.

I feel inadequate. Unworthy. Useless.

This new condition threatens my ability to care for myself. I plead with God for help, praying a prayer of surrender, “Father, forgive my fear and doubt. Help me depend on You in this new season of suffering. Use my limits for Your glory.”

I sit for a while and begin to feel peace. I start to think about the power of Rest Ministries–the men and women who inspire and encourage me every day, who use their writing gifts to bless so many people around the world.

I reflect on the struggles they share and I find the courage to say, “Yes, Lord” –even to this. I will write through the pain, trust when fatigued, praise Him as I go from one appointment to the next.

Acknowledging God’s sovereignty brings me hope and eliminates my internal struggle. God has allowed this trial for a reason He determines necessary for me at this point in my life.

I may not like it or understand it. That’s okay. As long as I continue to trust God and His perfect love for me, my faith will be refined. Sooner or later, His purpose will be revealed and I will gain wisdom and strength from it.

Prayer: Father, I thank You for Rest Ministries. Thank You for the daily reminders of Your love and care for us. Even though we struggle with our limits, help us rely on Your strength and power to do the things You created us to do. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Norman. They are the parents of two adult children. She has lived with chronic illness and pain for over 30 years. She knows she must rely on God’s grace to strengthen her whenever she faces a challenge. She invites you to read some of her other work on her blog: http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

What is your attitude about setting goals or making plans? Do you try to hope for the best and then have a Plan B if things do not go as planned? Or do you avoid making plans at all?

This video, “Be Still, O My Soul” with The City Harmonic shows many photos from past decades and it’s worth taking a moment to just consider the lives lived. So many have lived… and so many have suffered… and yet, so many have found the peace of the Lord. As this song says, we are all dust. Even if we are tired… or old… or just feel old– don’t shortchange your message by allowing your illness to prevent you from the fingerprint God meant for you to leave on this world. -Lisa

