How Can Illness Possibly be a Treasure?

treasureIllness may leave you lacking in treasures but if you look closely, Angi shares how the blessings may surprise you.

“I will give you hidden treasures, riches stored in secret places, so that you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, who summons you by name” (Isaiah 45: 3).

Hidden treasure is something that is concealed, unseen, and found in unexpected places. It is usually hidden in darkness and disguise, but once discovered you clutch it tight and don’t want to lose it.

In Matthew, Chapter 6, we are told to store up treasures in heaven where neither moth nor rust can destroy. The Kingdom of Heaven is also referred to as the “hidden treasure” in Matthew, Chapter 13.

As I thought about this verse, in reference to being chronically ill, it struck me that the “riches” could symbolize gold nuggets of truth that God teaches us through our “secret place” of pain.

These gems are stored in heaven’s vault and cannot be taken from us.

Born out of pain, loneliness, grief, and loss they can remain covered up, but when we dust them off we see their value and beauty.

The lessons that we learn through the school of affliction should not be wasted. Jesus wants us to teach them to our children, encourage others, and comfort those with the same comfort we have received (2 Corinthians 1:3).

I’ve learned that I would have no idea how to comfort the sick, if not for sickness. I would not know how to encourage the dismayed, if I’d not been in the pit myself. I would know nothing about comforting those in despair, if I’d not been there.

Because through eyes of pain, I’ve witnessed God’s goodness and grace. Through need I have seen His provision. Through weakness I have learned strength. Through loss I have been given much.

These gems are priceless, and through them we learn more about the Lord our God who calls us by name.

“The law from Your mouth is more precious to me than thousands of pieces of silver and gold” (Psalm 119:72).

Prayer: Father, give us eyes to see these gifts hidden under the veil of disease. Help us to see our affliction with a fresh perspective. Fill us with Your strength to press on. Keep our eyes fixed on You and things above, knowing that You often send blessings in disguise. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Angie Dugi lives in Texas with her husband and their three teenagers. For almost two decades she has struggled with Lupus, Sjogrens, fibromyalgia, and RA. She loves to write and delights in telling others about Jesus. She is the author of “What I Learned Lying Down: Hope for the Chronically ill” and “GodSmiles.” You can find her blog at http://www.mygodsmiles.net.

What treasures have you discovered through your affliction? How have they changed your perspective?

This is one of those songs we consider a theme around here and have shared a few times. Some days you just need to hear it again because . . . what if? This is Laura Story singing “Blessings.” -Lisa

