What Does it Really Mean to Rely on God’s Strength?

Today’s devotional is from Shelly and we are excited to share in her joy that she has her first two books published. They are called You’re Chronically Ill . . . So Now What? and Your Loved One is Ill . . . So Now What?. We are thrilled to be able to carry them in our shop and the proceeds benefit Rest Ministries.

strength2So . . . onto today’s devotional! We say we rely on God’s strength but Shelly reminds us how to truly, fully rely on His strength when we are most fearful. May you be blessed.

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want” (Philippians 4:12).

Learning to be content. Tall order most days, right? At least it is for me.

Most days I struggle to even believe that I can do this . . . whatever this is. I need to remember that there’s another verse there, and it’s the verse that holds the key.

“I can do all this through Him who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13).

I need to remember that I have been just as certain at each and every stage of this chronic illness journey, that I “couldn’t do this.”

And I wasn’t just saying it. No, I meant it with every fiber of my being. I shouted it into the night with panic lacing my voice.

But, I could . . .

“I can do all this through Him who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13).

There was not a doubt in my mind that I could not manage chronic. I knew it in my bones that daily pain was impossible to endure.

Each and every crazy-scary diagnosis that was added like letters after my name was met with complete certainty that this would be the straw that finally breaks the camel’s back. (In the scenario where I am said camel.)

And yet . . .

“I can do all this through Him who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13).

It’s finally starting to sink in, but I’m sure that’s only temporary. The next revelation will surely shake me to the core again. But the next time I just can’t do something, I hope I remember the truth:

“I can do all this through Him who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13).

Prayer: Lord, please keep pouring Your strength into our worn-thin places. We can do this, because we are not alone. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. They live the good life in South Louisiana. She is a writer for God’s glory. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and a yet-unnamed neuro degenerative disease, among a myriad of other issues mostly stemming from these two. She had brain surgery in 2012, to install a VP Shunt, and had a revision in January 2014. Though her condition continues to deteriorate, her spirit is constantly focused on eternity. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What are you facing right now that you feel you cannot do? Do you remember that you have the strength of Christ?

This is the song “What It Feels Like” with the group FFH. Shelly brought this song to my attention and wow . . . the lyrics were are so powerful. I hope it gives you a moment today to find true strength–His strength. -Lisa

