Is God Using Your Problems to Repurpose Your Life?

repurposeWhat talent, gift, knowledge can God repurpose in your life in a fresh way this year? Bronlynn shares.

“For it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill His good purpose” (Philippians 2:13).

I enjoy reading books and magazines on decorating, and lately I have noticed the term “repurposed” quite frequently.

If an item is repurposed, rather than throwing it away after it becomes old, defective, or useless, it is given a new purpose or use.

Living in an area with many local artisans, I have seen some amazing products made with repurposed materials–picture frames and cabinets made from old wood floors, jewelry made from old papers, sculptures made from trash metal, garden décor made from kitchen wares, cloth pumpkins made from repurposed quilts, and nativity figures made from repurposed textile thread spools.

With some creativity, the possibilities for repurposing seem endless!

I can relate the concept of repurposing to my health problems. I don’t have the same capabilities that I had in healthier years. At times, these changes have left me feeling useless and purposeless.

Repurposing is accomplished by modifying something to fit a new use, and God has and continues to repurpose my life through the modifications that my health changes bring.

I may not be doing my previous work, volunteering, or church ministry, but God has led me to usefulness and service in other ways which are just as significant in His eyes as what I did when my health was better.

It takes creativity and effort to repurpose materials, but the results can be unique and quite useful. Our disabilities may keep us from doing what we used to do, but with hearts and minds that are open to God’s leading and some creative thinking on our part, we can be repurposed in unique new ways for His glory.

Prayer: Lord, thank You for the assurance that You will never discard me, and I will never outlive my usefulness to You. Although my body may not be what it once was, give me the direction and creativity to see new possibilities in serving You as I am now. Amen.

About the author:
Bronlynn Spindler lives in North Carolina and is blessed to have the support and encouragement of a wonderful husband, three daughters, and their husbands. God’s grace and strength have brought her through thyroid cancer and continue to sustain her through ongoing back pain, depression, headaches, multiple sensitivities, and fibromyalgia. You may view her blog of devotionals at http://www.aplaceofsprings57.blogspot.com.

Have you seen ways that God has repurposed you through your health problems?

This is the group, The Almost, signing “Hands.” How can you be God’s hands? If you knew you could do anything–and not fail, not have your body prevent you from completing it–what would it be? Prayerfully take it to God and ask Him if it is still part of His plan, perhaps even in a new way?

I can say from personal experience, God repurposes my life over and over again, even now using my creativity needs, a lifetime of history of making jewelry, and love of ministry and online networking all to make my newest venture Gutsy Goodness a true joy! Don’t limit God, but ask Him to reveal at least a piece of His plan to you–and then don’t talk yourself out of it, -Lisa

