Parties, New Years, and Loss! Oh My!

partiesCan you still have fun at a New Year’s party? Vicki shares behind-the-scenes.

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His wonderful light” (1 Peter 2:9).

“Have you been teaching lately?” one of the guests at my husband’s company’s office party asked.

I wonder if she’ll think less of me that I am not longer able to teach full-time. She teaches at a college and has her Ph.D.

“No” was all I could reply.

Why did I feel ashamed? Was it pride? Perhaps.

Happily, we shared a warm conversation talking about trips, family, and favorite restaurants.

Not only does my MS prevent me from teaching regularly, it forces me to make life changes.

Like preparing for that party.

I had to do more than select an outfit. I had to review the document of information I’d compiled about my husband’s coworkers. That way, I could present myself as someone who genuinely cares about their lives. Which is a fact, but my cognition makes it hard for me to remember important details. So, I relied on my cheat sheet (reviewed ahead of time).

I also had to plan rest time before and after the event.

We had a wonderful time at the party. I returned home exhausted but grateful for God’s faithfulness. He provided the strength I needed and helped me recall important information. Yet, I still secretly felt ashamed of my dwindling résumé.

God, in His tenderness, spoke to my heart. He gave me His perspective of my divine résumé. Read it over and see if yours contains similar information:

Experience and Credentials:
Afflicted, yet unshaken in faith
Weak, but empowered by divine strength
Grieving losses, yet still able to rejoice
In pain, but feeling perfect peace
Unemployed, yet chosen to serve the Creator

Ongoing coursework: Trust 101 (a review course), Pain 401 (a field experience), and Suffering (a master’s level course)

Reference: God

I’m not washed up. I’m washed clean by the blood of the Lamb. So, I need not fret about New Year’s resolutions. God has a plan for my life this year. I’m excited to see it unfold!

Prayer: Dear Father, What a tender Father You are! You replaced my feelings of inferiority with reminders of my royal priesthood. What an honor it is to be called by You. My New Year’s resolution is to, “declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net . Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

What would you add to your divine résumé?

This is “Don’t Give Up” with Rick Muchow. Whatever you are facing today, just . . . don’t give up. Perhaps it is the physical pain that is discouraging you. Maybe you would just love the opportunity to go to a party, even if you had to decline. Maybe you are grieving an argument you had with a loved one this week, or a sadness that 2016 looks like it is going to be rough. Just don’t give up. We’re here for you. Keep the faith… because we really do care. -Lisa

