Anxious About the Coming Christmas?

We are back! Our website had some issues and it was down about 10 days while someone helped us out and fixed it. I am so sorry for the the delay in December devotionals but we have some fabulous ones coming! -Lisaanxious

Are you feeling anxious about what you can and can’t do and who you may disappoint this holiday season? Fiona shares.

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:35, 37-39).

After a night of disturbed and pretty non-existent sleep, I wake to feelings of panic and anxiety. Pain is much worse than “usual” and there are some scary signs of worse to come. What am I going to do?

Trying to calm my panic, I remind myself that I need to hold on to what I know, what God promises me–not what I’m feeling. I know I don’t have to do this alone.

But I feel alone, I’m scared and I’m so tired of this journey. It hurts, it’s hard–so hard at times.

God is with me. These verses from Romans 8 remind me that no kind of trouble or hardship–nothing can, or will ever, come between God and His love for me.

In Joshua, when he’s facing a huge challenge after the death of Moses, God assures him:

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you” (Joshua 1:9b, 5b).

Trouble, hardship, trials, whatever the pain we are feeling – it wont win, because God is greater and He’s on our side. He will do as He’s promised, because as Malachi tells us:

“I the Lord do not change” (Malachi 3:6).

It’s not always easy to get past the panic or anxiety, or the fear. I try to weigh it up against all that God is and does for me–all He promises and just how much He loves me.

Maybe this Christmas brings feelings of anxiety for you. I’ve got concerns about Christmas too! But I’m trusting God is greater. He knows, He cares and He is with us.

Prayer: Father God, when fear and anxiety threatens to take over, help us to hold fast to You and all You’ve promised us. Thank You that we are never alone and nothing can separate us from Your love. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He continues to teach her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Are you anxious or fearful about Christmas this year? Or something else? What promises will you be holding on to?

This is Sidewalk Prophets singing “Hope Was Born This Night.” Simply beautiful and a good reminder about what this season is truly about. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

