When You Feel Unneeded in Your Community or Family

unneededIt can feel terrible when you think no one needs you for anything. Julie shares.

“On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor. . . But God has put the body together, giving greater honor to the parts that lacked it” (1 Corinthians 12:22-24).

I try to work through my pain by exercising to the best of my ability so I don’t become more disabled than I already am. Even though I tell my husband I sometimes feel like giving up, I know that whatever I can do will help me to function more normally.

But my biggest obstacle to overcome is my arms. Simply moving them in any manner hurts, and trying to actually strengthen them with exercise feels impossible. They are weaker than other parts of my body, but I really wouldn’t want to be without them.

I have also looked at people in the body of Christ who appear very strong and useful to God. In comparing myself to them in my feeble state, I feel like I am not of as much use to the body of Christ.

I simply cannot do as much. You may even be thinking that because of your situation, the body doesn’t have much need for you. But Christ says you are indeed important! He, Himself, says you are vital and necessary, and He has actually given you “greater honor” than those who are stronger.

Don’t let anyone make you think you are not worthy to God.

As it says in verse 21, “The eye cannot say to the hand, ‘I don’t need you!’ And the head cannot say to the feet, ‘I don’t need you!'”

Strengthen the part of the body you possess in the body of Christ. It is the only way you will get stronger. If you are the mouth, then proclaim Christ in any way you can, by teaching or encouraging words. If you are the feet, you can provide transportation for others to hear God’s word.

Whatever part you encompass, use it to the best of your ability. The body needs you!

Prayer: Oh, Lord! I feel so weak and inadequate in my current state. Thank You for telling me in Your Word that I am needed in the body of Christ. Show me what I can do to become an integral part in its function. Amen.

About the author:
Julie Buckley was diagnosed with mixed connective tissue disease in 1995 (scleroderma, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, and polymyositis) along with fibromyalgia. She lives in the midwest with her husband and has a grown son. She also has a blog site called “Healthy Souls,” which encourages Christians to grow stronger through their physical weakness, http://jabuckle.wordpress.com/

Can you name one thing that you can do as part of the body of Christ, even if it seems you are weak and feeble?

This is a beautiful video, with Monk And Neagle singing “Twenty First Time.” I know that it emphasizes how we can do something more, but what I think of is how we can touch the lives of whoever God brings us. Ask for Him to give you something to do for Him, and He usually will–if it is His will. Even when I am home for days I talk on the phone to telemarketers; I call my insurance company, pharmacies–all kinds of medical situations give me plenty of people I need to speak with to clarify a bill or a medication. Be determined to put joy into your voice and the Holy Spirit will answer your request. -Lisa

