Can You Leave a Legacy Despite Chronic Illness

legacyWhen we can barely move from room to room some days, it is hard to imagine we are able to leave a legacy. Karen shares.

“. . . so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please Him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God . . .” (Colossians 1:10).

I want to leave a legacy to those who follow me in my life. I want my life to count for something.

There are many days that my greatest accomplishment is cleaning the bathroom, washing the dishes, or vacuuming the floor. I can’t possibly see myself as having any kind of impact on the world.

With my chronic illness there are so many days I just shoot for getting the routine things done and dream of doing something important “someday.”

How can I possibly leave a mark on this world?

The answer is the same for me as it is for you. You leave a legacy by being the person God wants you to be day by day.

Being the person God wants me to be doesn’t require physical greatness, it only requires a willing heart.

God gives us specific qualities to help us be the person He wants us to be. Some are found in Galatians 5:22.

I can leave my legacy by being someone who has love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

If I am a person with all those qualities in my life, I can’t help but leave a legacy. Those are the type of people who impact this world for the good.

Notice that none of those qualities require physical strength. It can be done despite my illness.

I don’t need to have fame, awards, or articles written about me to have my life count. My legacy isn’t based on one great moment or accomplishment in my life.

My legacy is being determined to do God’s will one day at a time.

Let those who come after us find that we lived our lives to the glory of God. Let us be found faithful to Him.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help me to live a life that pleases You. Help me to live in such a way to be faithful to You!

About the author:
Karen Weber is from the Midwest and lives with her husband. She has been diagnosed with several autoimmune diseases for over 20 years. She has led a support group and has taught classes for the community on “Living Well with Chronic Illness.”

Do you ever worry about making your life count in this world?

This is Josh Wilson singing “I Refuse.” This is a powerful song–and video as well–as it reminds us how many people are silently hurting and how we can make a difference in their lives.

When we are physically exhausted it can be tempting to not instigate a conversation with someone who is hurting. It is easier to make an excuse and go to bed rather than picking up the phone and calling someone who is in the middle of a crisis. But do you refuse to do that? What will your legacy be? Powerful! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

