Do You Wonder Where God Is On the Hard Days?

hard-days2There will be times when we feel God has left us, but Shelly reminds us that as the shepherd He is always attentive, even we we wander off.

“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. The hired hand is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep” (John 10:11-13).

Do you ever find yourself wondering where God has gone? I admit that sometimes I wonder if He really is beside me.

This illness–it keeps me in a desolate place . . . a place where I cry out and all that comes back to me is my own echo. A place where I feel like I’m under constant attack and facing it all alone. My shield is pretty dinged up and singed.

A place where I feel . . . lost.

And so I am reminding myself today of who Jesus is. He is the Good Shepherd. Not only does He lay down His life for His sheep, He would never abandon me when I’m under attack. This is no hired hand we’re dealing with here.

Do you know what else I learned from the above verse? I learned that it is the sheep that scatter. It is I who runs away, not my Savior.

So today I cry out and hear my own echo. But I will also strain to hear the One who leaves the rest in order to find me and bring me safely home where I belong.

How about you?

Then Jesus told them this parable:

“Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep'” (Luke 15:3-6).

Prayer: Dear God, that You would leave the rest to come and find me. Wow. That leaves me speechless. Forgive me for ever doubting Your care. I want to return to You, Lord. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. They live the good life in South Louisiana. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and a yet-unnamed neuro degenerative disease, among a myriad of other issues mostly stemming from these two. She had brain surgery in 2012, to install a VP Shunt, and had a revision in January 2014.

Though her condition continues to deteriorate, her spirit is constantly focused on eternity. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

How do you feel assured of God’s constant presence with you when you are reminded that He is a Good Shepherd?

This is “Alive Again” by Matt Maher and Shelly recommended it. Hoping it blesses you today and reminds you that God sees everyone of your hard days and He is waiting to guide you back to Him. -Lisa

One thought on “Do You Wonder Where God Is On the Hard Days?

  1. Thank you for this blessing today. There are times I feel so drained and emptiness can set in for such long periods, but it forces me to cry out in deeper desperation after Him. Thank you for reminding me that He is always there. God bless you, Lisa for your work and Shelly for writing this piece.

Leave a Reply

