Drawing Hope From God In A Dark Cloud

dark-cloudsaGod may send dark clouds, but Kerryn reminds us that He uses them for different purposes.

“Then Solomon said, ‘The Lord has said that He would dwell in a dark cloud’” (2 Chronicles 6:1).

While Americans enjoy the last splash of summer with tinges of autumn, Aussies are under the final dark clouds of winter and the beginnings of spring.

I’m longing for the warmth of sunshine, spring flowers and the end of dark clouds and rain!

I can’t wait for those fluffy white spring clouds to appear in the sky, that we learn to draw as children. There’s something special, romantic and childlike about them.

I’ve realized that my romantic, cartoon-like white, fluffy spring cloud has been my image of how the Lord guided the Israelites in the desert.

Recently, I’ve been reading through the Old Testament chronologically. I was charging through my Old Testament readings–and yes, I confess to getting a little bored. It was like a long drive where the view was flashing faster and faster beside me with my brain in neutral.

Then the screech of brakes and a double take, as I read that verse again. “The Lord has said that he would dwell in a dark cloud.”

A dark cloud! What?!

The cartoon picture faded, as the reality of this verse set in. How could I be so blind?

In that moment I teared up. God was speaking deeply into my heart and soul. Suddenly I was enveloped into that “dark cloud” of a dwelling place with God.

I couldn’t speak, couldn’t even think through the significance of this entirely.

What I do know is that God has brought me hope, a new revelation, and freedom.

If you are living with the feeling that there is a dark cloud over you, as I have been lately, then may that verse give you hope too.

“The Lord has said that he would dwell in a dark cloud” so let’s worship Him there!

Prayer: Lord, thank You for Your Holy Spirit that guides my reading of the Bible. Show me more about the hope You have for me during dark times, as You dwell with me there. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family among the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

Are you going through tough times that need hope from God? How does this image of the Lord dwelling in a dark cloud impact upon you?

This is Newworldson singing “Learning to Be the Light.” The lyrics share how there are times when we struggle, when everything in life seems to go wrong. And yet, we can know that God can and will eventually make it right again. Only He can do that.

And because of that we can “learn to be the light.” We can learn how to singing praises of our God to someone who asks “how are you?” and things are not really that well. I am going to listen to this song more than once, as I need to keep applying it to my life! -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Drawing Hope From God In A Dark Cloud

Leave a Reply

