Do You Long to be Truly Seen?

be-seenWe share about invisible illness challenges, but when we have visible symptoms people can be uncomfortable to the point of not even recognizing our presence at all. Deni shares.

“Do not say, ‘Why were the old days better than these?’ For it is not wise to ask such questions” Ecclesiastes 7:10).

I have always felt very visible. At 6’1″ it’s hard not to be, especially when you are a female. Being outspoken didn’t deter me much, either.

But now?

Now I long to be seen.

Recognized.

No, not for some amazing accomplishment (though I had my share of time longing for those!). I long to be seen as who I am now–

A person.

A person with feelings, and dreams, and hopes, and desires.

What prevents that?

Something I both love and hate at the same time.

You see, if I go out to a doctor’s appointment or for lab work (my social life these days), I need to use a wheelchair or my power chair. It’s the only way I can leave the house.

That mode of transportation seems to define me now. Once tall and confident, I now find myself trying to navigate crowds of people who may or may not part for me. people who may or may not even look at me. If they do, they are quick to look away.

Having multiple chemical sensitivities that can make me very ill very quickly, I also need to wear a surgical mask.

And I’ve come to realize no one sees my ready smile behind the mask. Instead, they avoid me.

How often I remember the older days when I felt “seen.”

Yet, God tells me to forget the former days. While assuring me that He sees me, He knows me, and–best of all He loves me–just as I am. He is preparing a place in heaven for me to be with Him.

“My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am” (John 14:2-3).

And what greater recognition can there be than to know the God who created the universe calls me “His beloved”?

“My beloved is mine and I am His” (Song of Solomon 2:16a)–and sees me– always.

“Where can I go from Your Spirit? Where can I flee from Your presence? If I go up to the heavens, You are there; if I make my bed in the depths, You are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there Your hand will guide me, Your right hand will hold me fast” (Psalm 139:7-10).

I am always visible to Him.

Alwaysand in all ways.

Prayer: Father God, thank You for the many reassurances Your Word gives to us, that we are known and seen and loved, even when the world averts their eyes. How blessed are we to be called by Your name! Amen.

About the author:
Deni rejoices in the fact that, even while facing multiple challenges, she can be confident that God will see her through even the hardest of times; and is grateful when God allows her to share her faith with others traveling similar paths. She currently resides in Northwest Indiana and is blessed to be surrounded by a loving family and many virtual friends.

Do you base your worth on the reactions of others, or do you stand firm in the knowledge of His sacrifice to make you His own?

This isn’t a song, but rather a very powerful skit with Nicole Johnson, one of the speaker for years at Women of Faith. If you have ever felt invisible, if your kids or spouse don’t seem to even see you, I am sure this will not only make you smile, but tug your heart and remind you that God always does see us. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

