When We Think No One Is Watching

watching
Just when you think no one is watching you, someone says “because of you I will try harder . . .” Dorothea reminds us the influence we have.

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.” (Colossians 3:12).

The other day when I went to the pharmacy for allergy medicine, my only concern was getting in and out as quickly as possible. However, a young woman talked and laughed while the cashier rang up a counter filled with merchandise.

So, I started praying for the strength and energy to continue standing.

Finally, she completed her transaction and apologized for her large purchase. The cashier thanked us for our patience and rang up my medicine. We finished in minutes.

A woman ran out after us. “Please. I need to speak to her,” she yelled. Norman moved to my side of the car when I let down the window.

“Please don’t think I’m weird, but I had to find you.”

Her intensity unnerved me and stirred my curiosity.

“You taught me a lesson back there. Thanks for your example. I’ll never forget it,” she said. “I would not have waited so patiently or been that kind. I watched you the entire time. You were never negative or harsh.”

Stunned by her comments, I answered. “Thanks.”

“I hope you understand how you impacted me. I’ve got to do better. Have a great evening.”

When Norman got in the car, we sat in silence for a few minutes. I wasn’t trying to exhibit patience or kindness, just to remain upright and functioning.

And, it never occurred to me to complain about waiting in line, because I’m always aware of my slow movements.

I also learned a valuable lesson that day.

My feelings and limitations never give me permission for rudeness or impatience. I must reflect God’s love at all times. And He showed me that His grace flows through me when I willingly rely on Him for strength no matter what I face.

Prayer: Father, thank You for Your grace and mercy to me. Help us to walk in compassion and never act in a way that brings dishonor to You. Help us rely on Your power whenever we feel weak or inadequate. Use us to reflect Your love to everyone we meet. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in California with her family. She has lived with multiple chronic illness conditions and endured chronic pain for over 30 years. Each day, she relies on God’s grace and the prayers and support of family and friends to strengthen and encourage her. She loves to hear from her readers. Please visit her on Facebook or read some of her other works on her blog http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

Have you ever responded in a certain way and then had someone tell you that he or she had been watching? How did it make you feel? Do you remember this in everyday circumstances like at a store or talking to telemarketers?

This is No Other Name singing “Let it Start with Me.” We will never be perfect. We will mess up. But God desire to use us every single day. We must start somewhere and sometimes that will be at our pharmacy, just like Dorothea. Whether we chose it or not, we are each a missionary with a purpose. Have you accepted God’s calling yet? Hugs, -Lisa

Leave a Reply

