By God’s Power, I’m Still Standing

still-standingDespite the circumstances, the complications in life, depression, Bronlynn shares how she is still standing and God promises the same for each of us.

“Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous fall” (Psalm 5:22).

My husband and I recently visited a nearby tourist attraction called The Blowing Rock.

Legend says that an Indian maiden and warrior fell in love. Torn between her and his duty, he jumped off the rock in desperation. She prayed to the Great Spirit, and one day the wind blew the warrior back to her. Since then a continual wind has blown up onto the rock, causing even the snow to fall upside down.

Of course this is just a story. The wind blows the way it does because of the topography of the land and weather patterns.

Several days after our trip, I was hit with a severe bout of depression. It was a very dark and desperate time, but God brought me through it–yet again.

I thought about the blowing rock.

Many times I stand on the edge of hard times–times of pain or depression or difficulties. Sometimes I jump off in despair. Other times those problems push me over the edge.

I fall for a while, but the power of God and His Spirit keep pushing me back up.

Pain and problems may cause me to fall for a time. But in the words of the Barnes Notes Commentary:

“He (God) will not so appoint, arrange, or permit things to occur, that the righteous shall be “ultimately” and “permanently” removed from their steadfastness and their hope; He will not suffer them to fall away and perish. In all their trials and temptations He will sustain them, and will ultimately bring them off in triumph.”

God’s power is not just a story.

When life pushes me over the edge, His winds keep blowing me back onto His solid rock. I will stand again. And the view from the rock is victorious.

Prayer: Lord God, sometimes Your idea of falling and mine are not the same, and I don’t feel that I can keep standing through my problems. Yet Your Word says that if I cast my cares on You, I will not fall. Thank You that You sustain me through all of my trials, no matter how overwhelming they may seem. Amen.

About the author:
Bronlynn Spindler lives in North Carolina and is blessed to have the support and encouragement of a wonderful husband, three daughters, and their husbands. God’s grace and strength have brought her through thyroid cancer and continue to sustain her through ongoing back pain, depression, headaches, multiple sensitivities, and fibromyalgia. You may view her blog of devotionals at http://www.aplaceofsprings57.blogspot.com.

How has God “blown you back” and enabled you to stand through times of pain and suffering?

I heard this song years ago on TV and I stopped what I was doing and listened and then went and bought the CD. I’ve only done this a few times in my life. This is BeBe Winans singing “Stand” and when I read Bronlynn’s devotional this powerful song immediately came to mind. I hope it encourages you today to keep standing spiritually. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

