God’s Hands On My Keyboard

gods-handsThe internet and our ability to connect with one another is vital, and when our hands touch the keyboard, Fiona explains, God can do great works through them.

“The Lord your God has blessed you in all the work of your hands. He has watched over your journey through this vast desert. These forty years the Lord your God has been with you, and you have not lacked anything” (Deuteronomy 2:7).

“Take my hands and let them move, at the impulse of Thy love.” *

Sitting in church singing this song* last week, I was struck by the words about our hands and how that might apply to using my hands on a keyboard–how over the years they has become an offering to serve God.

Maybe the fact that recently I’ve had a problem with my neck, causing pain in my arm and down into my hand, made me notice this more that day.

I was told to minimize (or stop) using my computer and the mouse particularly, to allow the inflammation to ease off. That might sound easy to do, but it was a challenge for me.

There were people I wanted to be in touch with, things it seemed God was still laying on my heart, to write, or share with others. Yet, I was supposed to keep off the computer!

Many of us may not be able to serve in ways we once did before illness. There are ways we can still use our hands to reach out, however, where maybe we can’t go places physically. The internet has enabled ministry and communication with others that we probably never dreamed of 20 or 30 years ago.

I found I could still serve God and encourage others with my writing. The internet let me connect with people, even if I couldn’t see them face to face.

Now I love to write–but I often stop and pray that my hands will write only what God wants me to write. I ask Him to help me share the words He gives, as I share joys, sorrow or pain, prayer needs, encouragement and inspiration, with those He brings across my path.

May my hands on my keyboard always move at the impulse of God.

Prayer: Father God, I’m so grateful for those friends my keyboard connects me with. Help me to consider each word I share in light of what You would want me to write and offer the work of my hands afresh to you each day. Amen.

* “Take My Life & Let It Be” with Frances Ridley Havergal

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He continues to teach her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Do we only have our hands write and communicate our words, at the impulse of God? Do we share the words He gives us, or are we off on our own agenda or tangent, not taking Him into account, or considering how He would feel about what we write? How can we ensure we move our hands more in line with what God wants?

This is the song that Fiona mentioned above, “Take My Life and Let it Be” with Kari Jobe and Klaus Kuehn. it is a timeless hymn that still stands as a prayer to the Lord today. Take a couple minutes to use it as your own prayer today. Hugs. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “God’s Hands On My Keyboard

  1. Dear Fiona,
    I’m soooo sorry to read about the pain in your arm and hand. That makes your devotional writing a true labor of love.
    As I read your message, I thought of Joni Eareckson Tada who can only use her mouth. So she serves God by using her mouth in a multitude of ways: speaking, painting, singing. writing (dictating her words).
    The song you shared is one of my favorite songs. The lyrics often fill my head with subtle reminders of my desire to yield to His prompting for what I do and say.
    Your prayer could be RM’s devotional writers’ prayer! It’ll be mine.
    Gratefully,
    Vicki

  2. Thanks Vicki – there is so much in the words of that song and even though I’ve heard and sung it so many times, it seems God still prompts me with something new in it at times. He’s amazing like that!
    The arm is only a little better, but the hand not so bad, so I’m able to spend some time and hopefully just not overdo my time on the keyboard.
    Joni has been such an inspiration to me over the years – what a great example she is, of using what she does have to serve Him.
    I’ll be praying it along with you Vicki 🙂
    Blessings,
    Fiona

Leave a Reply

