When Illness Complicates Life and Nothing Feels Secure

secureWhat do we cling to when medications fail, friends fall away and nothing seems to feel secure? Vicki shares our true foundation.

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10).

He had to be in pretty bad condition to lean on me. My husband had vertigo.

“Here, lean on me,” I offered.

He accepted, in spite of the possibility my weak arm could fail him. He was desperate.

Has your illness caused you to feel desperate? Reach out to one who can steady you.

Some illnesses lead to physical instability. Most illnesses test our spiritual stability.

I thought my faith was firm until multiple sclerosis (MS) invaded my predictable life. MS snatched certainty away. That’s when I realized I had been finding security in my plans—plans that MS often disrupted. So, I had to rely on what WAS certain: God’s plans for me.

Because I can no longer depend on my plans for the future, MS tempts me to feel afraid or sad.

What if I can’t continue doing the things I love? I feel useless. Who can help me?

I still want to schedule events, but can’t be sure I’ll have the energy. So, I look to Him for wisdom. It’s getting easier to ‘read’ His itinerary for my life.

The key to physical or spiritual stability is to select a strong arm. What stronger arm could we choose than God’s? The psalmist delighted in God’s powerful hand.

“The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in Him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with His hand” (Psalm 37:23-24).

“The Lord upholds all who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down” (Psalm 145:14).

“Because You are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. I cling to You; Your right hand upholds me” (Psalm 63:7-8).

Reach for God’s help. You’ll join the psalmist in his response. God’s power and presence will cause you to “sing and cling.”

Prayer: Dear God, when my faith is shaky, thank You for increasing my confidence in You. My focus shifts back to You, and I find myself on a firm foundation once again. Help me trust You with my future. By faith, I put my hand in Yours today. Guide me to the activities You’ve prepared for me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/
Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

How do you ‘read’ God’s itinerary for your life?

This is Andy Cherry singing “Our God’s Alive.” It is an upbeat, encouraging song, that reminds us of the power, the strength of our God. He has overcome all of these problems that seem so huge to us! As the song says, “only He alone can save us.” As I celebrate my 46th year on earth today, I am clinging to a God I know who has already won all the battles, already overcome the challenges I face, and I can securely put my faith in Him. Hugs, -Lisa

2 thoughts on “When Illness Complicates Life and Nothing Feels Secure

  1. Thank you for a beautiful reminder that if we let God’s will prevail in our lives we have a certainty and security that cannot be shaken, despite what our bodies may be going through. I honestly know that without Jesus at the helm my life would be worthless. It’s not always easy, but in everything I go through I try to look to the Lord to see what He wants my response to be. Many times I fail and complain about pain or frustration, then I turn to Him and find my shelter. Beautiful post. Thank you. Sammie

    • Dear Sammie,
      Thanks for your honest reply…your words represent the same struggles I encounter: my failures, my complaints, my frustrations, my inability to share a smile…
      Then I add guilt to that list for feeling that way. But then I realize that I’m simply responding how any human would respond to pain, loss, and fatigue. We have to make a DELIBERATE CHOICE to turn to Christ and let God’s will prevail in our lives. You clearly worded how to do that: We can “look to the Lord to see what He wants our (my) response to be.”
      Then you so beautifully stated how He blesses us: We “turn to Him and find my shelter.”
      Your comment contained a powerful truth: “We have a certainty and security that cannot be shaken, despite what our bodies may be going through. I honestly know that without Jesus at the helm my life would be worthless.”
      Thanks for encouraging my heart today!
      Looking unto Him,
      Vicki

Leave a Reply

