Escaping The Cave Of Your Mind

caveWhen emotional hard days hit do you shut yourself down? Or shut yourself off? Kerryn shares.

“There he went into a cave and spent the night. And the word of the Lord came to him: ‘What are you doing here, Elijah?'” (1 Kings 19:9).

When there are new issues, problems or dangers I can sometimes find myself going into the cave of my mind.

I’m sure you know that place too!

It’s dark, dingy, and dank. Fears come to haunt you, as you go through the “what ifs” way before they’re even likely to happen.

Before long you’re beating yourself up about how poorly you’re handling things. Your brain begins to analyze each little detail. Then, in a flash, you’re in the future in your mind with the worst possible scenario.

Fear can easily take us to that cave in our mind. We shut ourselves away and–at that point–our head takes over, our heart hardens, and our ears are shut to the Lord.

Isn’t it interesting that when we’re in that place our mind takes over and our heart has no place there?

We lose the ability to praise, worship, pray, and sense our heart beating in time with God’s.

What does the Lord say?

“What are you doing here, [add your name here]?”

The Lord calls us out of the cave: “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by” (1 Kings 19:11).

God calls us out of our cave into freedom.

This is the open place where the Lord passes by to take us with Him. It’s that place that takes us out of the cave of our mind into His open heart and open arms. This is where we hear His sweet whispers, as we praise, worship, pray and allow our heart to beat in time with His.

He whispers because He is close!

It’s time to trust the Lord with our fears. Let’s step out of the cave into freedom on high with God.

Prayer: Lord, You know that I can get stuck in the cave of my mind. Help me to venture out to the mouth of the cave and step into that open place with You. Take my hardened heart and my shut ears to be softened and open again. I love You, Lord! Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family among the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What specific fears take you to the cave in your mind? What helps you to venture out and trust God? How can you move more quickly from the cave to standing on the mountain in the presence of the Lord?

This is Crowder singing “Lift Your Head Weary Stranger.” It has an interesting sound to it and I found myself listening to it a few times while I was posting this devotional. I am hoping it blesses you–most especially the lyrics as they share how know matter how weary you are, how lost you may feel, you can always stumble in like a prodigal child and God will be eagerly waiting to embrace you. Hugs. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Escaping The Cave Of Your Mind

  1. Wonderful message, thank you. That’s me exactly. I’ve known this but don’t know what to do to get out of the cave. Any suggestions? How to do things seems to be the hardest thing for me.

    • Thanks Anna. I’m really thankful that this spoke to you. In fact, I’m needing my own message today to help me be brave enough to step out of the “cave of my mind” of some current fears!

      As to suggestions….. hmmmm good question!! I guess for me… I need to be gracious to myself, not going into the “shoulds” or “musts” but gently removing myself physically from where I am. I literally find that if I physically move where I’m sitting it helps my mind to shift. So, I normally sit in “my recliner” but at those times I need to sit in another spot in the room, or in a different room & maybe light a candle to signify a change or sit outside in the sun. The physical light of the candle or the sun helps remove the darkness both symbolically & physically…. for me.

      Then the spiritual Light helps too, by reading some fave verses, or a Psalm, or looking at pretty graphics online with encouraging verses. Asking God to guide me to beautiful scenery & verses helps lift my spirit. Sooooo often God will guide me to a verse that really dispels the fear & reminds me that God is victorious & that with Him…. “I can walk by faith not by sight.”

      Specifically praying helps me too….. like: “Lord, help me to venture out of the cave of my mind. Take my hand Lord, as I need Your strength & help ‘coz I can’t do it on my own. Thanks. Amen.” Also praying for others takes my mind off of myself & helps me to have compassion for others & come into the Lord’s presence.

      Something else that helps me is finding something that is a treat that brings me joy. For me it can be something simple like a special fave tea in a pretty teacup & saucer…. or watching a funny movie….. or imagining I’m on holidays & doing a holiday thing like a sudoku puzzle or a jigsaw or something.

      Thanks for asking for suggestions Anna. It’s really helped me to think about it & venture out of the cave myself again! So you helped me! 🙂 God bless. Praying for you now. Lotsoluv Kerryn ♥

      • Kerryn: How kind of you to go into such detail to answer my question. Most people I meet would not have done that. Your suggestions are a great help to me and knowing that I’m not the only one who deals with “trying to escape the cave of my mind” also helps me because I see that others have to deal with this too. 🙂

  2. You’re welcome Anna. 🙂
    It was good for me to think through what I actually “do” to help myself at those times. It did really help me too. It does take a conscious effort, but sometimes I want to have a little pity party in the cave for a while first! I’ve been doing that quite a bit lately, so you’re definitely not alone.

    Of course my devotional is NOT talking about clinical depression, which is a whole different thing that requires medical care from a Dr, psychologist or psychiatrist. Having family members with depression, I know that is a very tough journey. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

