When God Offers Protection Through the Challenges

protectionWhen you decide to do something out of the ordinary to follow a dream, does God step in to protect your body? Laura shares.

“The Lord is good, a stronghold in a day of trouble; He protects those who take refuge in Him even in a rushing flood” (Nahum 1:7-8).

I road 10 miles in a charity bike ride recently despite rain and other obstacles.

Typically I become light-headed, nauseous and experience a headache five miles into a ride. I stop, stretch, drink and recover before finishing. But despite the crazy summer weather, I road straight through on this day.

I can’t adequately describe the joy of crossing the finish line; second consecutive year since dysautonomia robbed me of biking for about 18 months. I told my husband that I wish he could taste the sweetness of this ride as we pedaled the last half mile.

My hope of riding was dashed two days earlier when I spent six hours in the emergency room receiving three bags of fluids. Blood tests showed low iron, but thankfully no transfusion.

I rested the next day and tried to admit the ride was in jeopardy. But by nightfall I had not given up and packed in preparation. I had a quiet confidence; as I knew people around the world were praying for my ride. I had shared my struggles on the Rest Ministries writer’s group page. Several people mentioned that God could produce miracles; make my ride occur.

Two hours before the venture, I awoke with an ocular migraine. I tried to pretend my vision wasn’t deteriorating despite a full-blown light show in my eyes. Regardless I showered, dressed, and rested. Thirty minutes later, I was left with a slight headache, fatigue, and nausea.

We drove in silence as I drank fluids, elevated my feet and prayed. Upon arrival I was determined.

The ride went smoothly, despite downpours. We checked our brakes often, pedaled a bit slower, and talked. My stomach waited until I returned home to explode. I took a quick shower and slept four hours. It took a few days to recover, but the after effects were well worth the joy.

Perhaps it was not a miracle that I rode, but I am convinced God was my protector through the 10-mile course.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help us to trust in You even when there are added challenges in our lives. Guide us as we venture through our lives trying to live despite our illnesses. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three kids. She thanks God every time she is able to strap on her helmet and ride her Trek Hybrid.

How has God shown His protection to you?

This is the song “Beyond Me” with Toby Mac and it talks about dreaming big dreams. We are taught in all those illness educational workshops and books to make our dreams smaller–that way we can avoid disappointments and keep our body behaving as well as possible. But reading Laura’s devotional, I was reminded of how there are times when we have to throw our fears aside. It is still okay to dream big dreams. I know I have . . . and sometimes God has stepped in and they have come true.

Other times, He has allowed me to just dream it and not see it come to fruition. But when I keep asking Him to help me, to allow it to happen if it is His will, it gives me the opportunity to trust Him. Don’t forget to stop trusting God with your dreams. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

