How do You Control Worry?

control-worryWorry can significantly impact how our illness affects our life, so how can we truly get a grip on it before it destroys all hope for peace? Karen shares.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life . . .” (Matthew 6:25).

It’s a simple concept: don’t worry. People say it all the time but it’s much easier said than done.

How does one “not worry”? How can you actually reduce your anxiety? After all, chronic illness comes with a lot of legitimate worries! Even those without chronic health issues have a ton of worries!

My anxiety level always jumps up if I start having a new symptom. In my case, I’ve gotten used to all my issues so when a new pain or symptom presents itself, I worry! What if it’s a whole new problem? What if it’s something serious? Which doctor do I make an appointment with to check it out?

The thought of having one more thing to add to the list of what’s wrong with me can feel overwhelming!

Here are some practical steps that I take when my anxiety is high.

  1. Realize and accept that there is nothing I can do to change my circumstances. Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” (Luke 12:25).
  2. Surrender the situation to God. “Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7).
  3. Have courage and believe that God is completely capable of doing exactly what needs to be done. “Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine . . .” (Ephesians 3:20).

It is still easier said than done but I find that going through all three points can help.

Prayer: Lord, help me to trust You and not feel anxious. Help my faith to be strong. Amen.

About the author:
Karen Weber is from the MidWest and lives with her husband. She has been diagnosed with several autoimmune diseases for over 20 years. She has led a support group and has taught classes for the community on “Living Well with Chronic Illness.”

Does anxiety and worry become an issue for you?

This is Jeremy Camp singing “Same Power.” It is a good reminder that the same power that created the lands and the seas, the same power who said “Let there be light” we have in us. With His power, there is nothing we cannot do. We are fully capable of doing exactly what God has planned for our lives. A good thing to meditate on today. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

