Trusting The Mechanic With What is Under the Hood

mchanicWe don’t have to know how everything works because God already knows. He created our very body and He ordained our life and He will guide us to the correct path. Melanie shares.

“This is what the Lord says: ‘Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, mask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.’ But you said, ‘We will not walk in it'” (Jeremiah 6:16).

My car and I have been through tens of thousands of miles together over the last twelve years. I know how it maneuvers in different situations. I know how it drives, but I do not know what it is like inside.

The mechanic does.

God knows me inside and like the mechanic of my car He knows what needs to be changed. The Lord has a purpose for how He made me and has equipped me for the road of illness I have traveled. He is the designer. Jesus knows what lies ahead on this path of life and I trust Him to take me.

He is the driver.

Knowing the Lord is there at that confusing place where I’m not sure which way to turn is so comforting. That intersection is difficult. Perhaps it is made of doctors and bills to pay.

Maybe a hope for a new job, sticking out a hard one, or facing the reality of not being able to work now is the crossroads you face. Your intersection may be choosing what specific body of believers you are to devote time, love and life to.

In the midst it you stand, or sit, or lay and cry. In that place of questions you ask the One who knows, “Lord, where is the good way?” In faith, you step out and walk it. In faith in Him, you find rest for your souls.

Or maybe you don’t step out in faith. The choice belongs to each of us as we come to the crossroads and look. He is behind us saying, “This is the way, walk in it.” Will I choose to obey or will I choose my own way?

Isaiah 28:12 is so compelling, even intimidating, “to whom He said, ‘This is the resting place, let the weary rest’; and , ‘This is the place of repose–but they would not listen.”

Will we choose His paths or our own? We are promised rest for our souls when we choose His ways!

Prayer: Lord Jesus, please lead me on the road you choose. I trust You! Amen.

About the author:
Becky Elie lives in the Midwest and enjoys spending time with family. She was diagnosed with tuberculosis (TB) while teaching in Asia and is well after many months of medication and God’s care. She is learning that it is in her weaknesses that God’s strength is made known. Becky enjoys painting, photography, and learning more about living for Christ.

What part of life do you find the most challenging to submit to God in? Letting Him drive? Trusting the repairs to Him? Believing that He designed you with a purpose?

This is Chris Tomlin singing “Lord, I Need You” and the lyrics share how no matter where we are in life, no matter what we are tempted by, no matter what circumstances threaten to separate us from God, He is still there, just waiting for us to say, “Lord, I need You. I trust You.” I’ve been going through my own phases of saying this, then believing it, then being disappointed a miracle didn’t jump right into my life because i said I trust God, and then starting the cycle all over again. I hope this song speaks to you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

