Quaking During Storms of Uncertainty

stormsA life with illness is filled with all kinds of storms. Lynn shares how we can continue to rely on His hand that is reaching out.

“Immediately Jesus reached out His hand and caught him” (Matthew 14: 13a).

There are times when no human being can bring us the deep comfort each of us seeks. Fears known intimately only to God need his touch to release us. The context of thi scripture is well known. Peter impetuously and faith-filled jumps out of the boat to walk on water to meet Jesus.

Don’t we all have such times when we feel we will never sink again? I know I have. I have an ounce of a “better day” and am off and jumping mentally or sometimes out and away from home, only to have waves rear up and knock me over. My heart and my body plummet.

One constant remains. God is reaching out offering his steadiness. There is no condemnation. He knows my heart.

I re-learn to walk on the waters of faith, returning to the “boat of relationship” with Jesus’ presence superseding and subsiding the fears. Peace, even in the midst of my circumstances or storms raging around us, have not changed.

Being held securely, my shaking and quaking calms under his control. He brings me through my “now” that had taken my focus and to His “now” that makes Him the focus. I am wrapped up, being caught just in time–His time. My focus on Him is restored.

“He reached out and caught him.” Oh, how good that feels. Secure. Loved. Grateful.

Prayer: Lord, thank You for knowing and loving me perfectly. Thank You for understanding the times my faith-filled leap into life may overwhelm my body. Thank You for always remaining near to wrap me up into Your arms of care and calming me until You choose to calm the storms. Amen.

About the Author:
Lynn Severance is a retired elementary classroom teacher. Since 1983, she has lived with vestibular dysfunction: constant dizziness, sessions of vertigo and related side effects of nausea, balance problems, neck and back pain, visual tracking and eye fatigue. She is a breast cancer survivor having gone through surgery and chemotherapy treatments in 1987-88. She lives in Lynnwood, Washington. Do visit her blog at http://lynn-severance.blogspot.com

Share with us what kinds of times can overwhelm you the most: symptoms increase or new ones arise, waiting on medical test results, family concerns, needing understanding from others, or ??? How do you seek and allow Jesus to come in and wrap you up in his care and calm your storms?

Lynn thought you would enjoy this song and she has some special words for you: “The beautiful voice of Josh Groban reflects in the lyrics of this song, how much God loves each of us and is nearby to exhort us, saying, ‘Don’t Give Up.’ As you listen, aware of your current overwhelming circumstances, allow yourself to be wrapped up in God’s love and presence.” Hope you have day where you feel His love. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

