The Contrasting Comforts of God Meet All Our Needs

comfortDo you need a God of soft feathers of protection or one who holds a shield and rampart? Melanie reminds us of God’s uniqueness.

”He will cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge; His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart” (Psalm 91:4).

I love the comical (to me at least) way the Psalmist demonstrates God’s protective love by placing two contrasting images side by side–feathery wings and solid military defenses.

Have another look over the verse and this time let the words stimulate your imagination. My mind starts envisaging feather-lined shields and fortresses decked out with sumptuous soft furnishings!

Led by the Spirit, the writer is carefully crafting his words to convey both the tenderness and toughness of God’s fierce love—we could say the maternal and paternal sides. God’s love for us is gentle, kind, motherly, nurturing and sheltering, but also strong, durable, unbreakable, and unassailable.

Which aspect of God’s faithful love do you need to be reminded of today?

Do you need to meditate on the tough love of the shield and rampart with whose impenetrable protection we can face the onslaught of daily life?

”The name of the Lord is a strong tower; The righteous run to it and are safe” (Proverbs 18:10).

Or do you need to ponder the warm tenderness of God’s feathery wings under which you can find shelter and rest?

”How priceless is Your unfailing love! Both high and low among men find refuge in the shadow of Your wings” (Psalm 36:7).

Prayer: Loving Lord, thank You for reminding me of Your love–soft as feathers yet strong as a fortress. Although I cannot always feel it, help me to be secure in the knowledge of Your personal, tender and invincible love, today and always. Amen.

About the author:
Melanie Hodges has chronic migraine; lives in London, England, with her husband and 2 teenage daughters; she loves walking, reading, history, and writing. Her writing aims are to encourage Christians living with chronic illness/pain and also to produce wholesome, good quality fiction for children. Her first children’s novel, Sirenna’s Song, for 8-12 year old girls, is available from Lulu at http://ow.ly/Q9irP .

Which aspect of God’s faithful love do you need to be reminded of today–feathers or ramparts?

This is Aaron Jeoffrey singing “After the Rain” and it’s one of those songs that pumps of your spirit. The lyrics share of how everyone hurts, everyone feels, and yet after the rain, those storms that head our way, God reveals Himself in a whole new way. We can keep on keeping on and we will see His faithfulness as we reflect back on those hard days. Hope this encourages you, as it does me. -Lisa

One thought on “The Contrasting Comforts of God Meet All Our Needs

  1. Thank you for taking time to write a post I needed to read. I want my Heavenly Father to be both my fortress and a soft feathery, downy, duvet that I can hide my pain in. As I sink into the protective feathers I pray that He will ease my pain, strengthen my faith and my body and still use me despite the failings of my body. He is my great comforter (literally like a child’s blanket!). Without Him I always wonder how people make it through life. Thank you for your encouragement. Sammie http://www.feastingisfun.com

Leave a Reply

