Do We Really Trust God or Just Talk About it?

trust-godWhen you are truly tested in life, are you still able to trust God with your life–fully? Laura shares how God sent her a strong reminder that He is trustworthy.

“But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever. For what You have done I will always praise You in the presence of Your faithful people. And I will hope in Your name for Your name is good” (Psalm 52:8-9).

Have you ever thought that God was trying to give you a message but you were too stubborn to listen? That was my experience recently when I received an identical message three times.

“Jesus, I trust in you.”

I was heading to church one morning when a picture fell to my floor–a print I wasn’t aware I possessed. It was a beautiful image of Jesus with the words “Jesus, I trust in you.”

I went to church, prayed and glanced at the wall. The exact same picture hung in the church. Now, I sit in this area of the building all the time . . . and have not once noticed this large print.

I began to wonder if God was trying to hit me over the head and convince me to trust in Him. Family stressors were prevalent and my chronic illness had caused more uncertainties.

Trust: assured reliance on the character, ability, strength, or truth of someone or something; dependence on something future or contingent: hope.

Trust, reliance, confidence, hope. These had waned in my life and now I was told to trust. How much more did I need before I believed God held my life in His hands; He would see me through everything?

And then the biggest test came. My dear mother-in-law survived emergency aneurysm surgery but never woke. Three days later she was gone; a terrible surprise to all who loved her.

As I sat in her room the first morning after surgery I glanced around. And there it was; a beautiful card with a picture of Jesus. I walked over to read it: “Jesus, I trust in you.”

While sadness enveloped me this message was a reminder despite her imminent death, God was with my mother-in-law and would provide comfort to us all. So I prayed aloud, believing she would hear me and find comfort.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight” (Proverbs 3:5-6).

Prayer: Bless us, dear Lord, and help us to trust in You always. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three kids. She retired from her job as an elementary school counselor in 2012. She has a neurological condition–dysautonomia–which is a deregulation of the autonomic nervous system.

How do you trust in God despite your difficulties.

Oh, how I love this song . . . This is Lauren Daigle singing “Trust In You.” The lyrics describe how even when God doesn’t part the waters we need parted or meet our needs in other ways we thought they needed met, still we will choose to trust in Him. I think both her voice and the lyrics to this song will bless you. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Do We Really Trust God or Just Talk About it?

  1. thank you so very much!! i needed to hear those words badly especially as my husband and i are both facing chronic illnesses. he like you has sevveral forms of dysautonomia and i have stage 4 endometriosis along with fibro, cfs, and more.. we have been in a very long season of trials n hardships as we try and wait for our disability hearings and hopefully get disability and in the mean time it has been very difficult!! it seems as no one “trusts” us bc we are young and ill and i guess to many thats not possible. its very hard living with incurable diseases so young and the both of us having them too. but i know God gave us eachother and i know that i really can trust in Him. thank You for thhe reminded and for the verses. When I first started to read this God put Psalm 3:5 on my mind and one translation puts it that we can live n survive every day and night bc “the Lord sustains us” Its something I know i need to remember daily, that God is trustworthy, that He loves us and will provide all we need to endure the trials that come our way. He will sustain us and i will trust Him!! thank you again so much and may God bless you n your family. ❤

    • Joy thank you for sharing so much. I can’t imagine having two of you with an illness but I agree that God is the one to trust. God bless and protect you both as you pursue disability and continue your married life together. Laura

  2. Great devotion! For me, trust is a decision followed by a process..It takes daily reminders for me..And as I have gotten older it still ebbs and wanes..mostly depending on circumstances..
    I have a playlist of songs with trust as the message and many poems..When trust wanes, they are a comfort..A favorite scripture is Prov 3:5and 6..”Trust in the Lord with all thine heart and lean not on your own understanding…In all thy ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.”

Leave a Reply

