How to Change Our Attitude While We are Stuck Waiting

waitingThough we may not be able to speed up a waiting time, Bronlynn shares how our outlook can change the wait.

“My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from Him” (Psalm 62:5 KJV). . . . In the morning, Lord, You hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before You and wait expectantly” (Psalm 5:3).

Life is full of waiting periods. There are the positive waits to reach certain milestones or longed-for events. There are the annoying waits of shopping lines and traffic lanes.

If we live with ongoing pain or illness there are the seemingly endless waits. We wait for medical appointments, test results, treatment plans, and hoped-for relief.

My husband and I have waited countless times for treatment and results concerning my own health problems. But we have also been waiting years to find treatments for his tremor and nutcracker esophagus–treatments that would be effective without intolerable side effects. We are currently working with more new medicines, waiting, and seeking.

Waiting can be frustrating and difficult because we want action and results now.

Charles Stanley describes waiting as “passive action.” In one sense, we passively can do nothing. We can’t speed things up or change God’s ordained plan for our lives, including our suffering.

But we can change how we wait.

Instead of waiting in anxiety or frustration, we can wait in peace and hope. We can choose to believe in faith that God’s timing and control are the best for us. When tempted to give in to frustrations and fears, we can lay our requests before the Lord and wait in expectation.

This life will always involve waiting. If nothing else, we are waiting to go home to God.

But while we wait, we can act. Will our actions include bringing God our requests and meditating on Scripture? Will we claim His promises and look for signs of His presence? All of these are actions that will bring calmness and peace.

Or will our actions of fretting, complaining, and anger keep us tense, exhausted, and hopeless?

Waiting can have purpose. It can be an opportunity to strengthen our faith, grow in self-discipline, and show the power of God in our lives to others.

Prayer: O Lord, You know how tired I get of waiting. I want relief from my suffering. I want answers to my problems. And I want these things sooner rather than later. Give me the grace to see and use these times of waiting as ways to know and rely more on You. As I do, replace my frustrations and worries with Your peace and hope. Amen.

About the author:
Bronlynn Spindler lives in North Carolina and is blessed to have the support and encouragement of a wonderful husband, three daughters, and their husbands. God’s grace and strength have brought her through thyroid cancer and continue to sustain her through ongoing back pain, depression, headaches, multiple sensitivities, and fibromyalgia. You may view her blog of devotionals at http://www.aplaceofsprings57.blogspot.com.

How do you deal with times of waiting? Are there ways you can handle these times in a more positive way? If so, how?

This is the song “While I’m Waiting” with John Waller and if you have seen the movie Fireproof you will recognize many of the scenes from it. When I look at the lives of the people who are dearest to me right now, it seems we are all stuck in the waiting room. And I say “stuck” because that is exactly how it feels. Like God locked the door and forgot to come check on us. Yet, I know there are more lessons and learning in the waiting room than any other place we will live. So take it one day at a time and stay close to Him. He isn’t on the other side of the door. He is sitting in the chair beside you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

