Believing in God’s Plan Instead of the Pain

believeWe may claim we believe God is faithful and can be trusted with our life, but what happens with doubts come. Laura shares.

“Whatever you ask for in prayer and faith, you will receive” (Matthew 21:23).

I brought a dozen rocks to a HopeKeepers meeting recently. Each rock had a word inscribed; hope, blessed, believe, strength, pray and others.

After we said a prayer asking the Holy Spirit for guidance, each member randomly chose a rock. What happened next was remarkable. Every person stated that the exact word received was something they needed. One woman revealed pray on her rock.

“I have gotten away from daily prayer and just began to focus more on it, ” she said. “This rock is a good reminder.”

Another member stated that her blessed stone reminded her of the constant struggle she was having with identifying blessings while dealing with several illnesses.

I didn’t look at my rock until it was my turn to talk. When I glanced at the word I was awestruck.

Believe.

Believe: to have firm religious faith; to accept something as true, genuine or real; to have a firm conviction as to the goodness, efficacy, or ability of something.

I knew my rock was God-inspired. I was having a difficult time trusting God. Several things had happened and I was floundering. I still prayed, attended church; but something was missing.

And God once again was reminding me to believe and trust Him before all others.

That belief was challenged when I sat at my beloved mother-in-law’s hospital bed. She survived surgery to repair a blown aneurysm but the effects were irreversible; she died three days later. But I had my believe rock with me, as I always do. I prayed aloud in her room; prayers that I’ve known since childhood. They were of comfort to me and I believe she could hear me.

And when she left us I knew this was God’s plan.

We are all constantly challenged with our health issues. It is easy to give in to the negative thoughts; stop believing. But I am convinced these rocks are just one more affirmation of God’s love and support for us.

Prayer: Dear Lord, guide as we struggle with our illnesses and other challenges. Help us to seek You, above others, as that is where we get our ultimate comfort. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three kids. She retired from her job as an elementary school counselor in 2012. She has a neurological condition – dysautonomia- which is a deregulation of the autonomic nervous system.

What signs have you received from God that He walks on this journey with you?

If you are going through a tough time right now, I think this song “After the Rain” with Aaron Jeoffrey, will encourage you. It can be hard to believe God has a plan when we seem to be tumbling through one storm after another, but at some time the storms will end and we will be able to “look to the sky again.” Hugs. -Lisa

2 thoughts on “Believing in God’s Plan Instead of the Pain

  1. Laura, I did not see this posted over at the RM site ( maybe tomorrow ) so I will respond here.

    I really appreciated your posting and the focus on the “right rock” that came your way ( and to the ones in your HK group with the inspirational word each of you needed. It reminded me how those “rocks” where but a chip off of the Rock who found another way to encourage and uplift when most needed.

    BELIEVE is the word God brought to me to be my focus for this year of 2015 and – true to the enemy’s ways and my own weaknesses – I have been tested in many new ways. He is showing me that it is all about “believing Him and in Him” and then the “us” that we are together will overcome.

    xo Lynn

  2. Laura,
    I love that the particular rocks were relevant or special for each member of your group – that’s such a “God thing” and no doubt makes that memory (and the rock) so much more special. Thanks for sharing this confirmation that God knows and loves us so individually.

    May we each continue to hold on to The Rock as we travel this journey day by day.
    Blessings,
    Fiona

Leave a Reply

