How God Makes Me Brave To Face My Illness

brave2Daily fears could overtake us, but Debs shares how the strength of God makes us brave.

“The Sovereign Lord is my strength; He makes my feet like the feet of a deer, He enables me to tread on the heights” (Habbukuk 3:18).

I’m finding myself trying yet another type of medication and I’m wondering if this one will work or whether the side effects will be too much. So far replacing the amtrippline with gabapentin seems to be working.

Some nights I just lie in my bed unable to sleep as my legs ache so much I can’t settle. Other times I’m woken up numerous times by such a dry mouth and I can’t get back to sleep.

It is at those times that I long for answers and I cry out to God. In the midst of all this turmoil one evening I came across several Bible verses in the amplified version of the Bible.

I just love the verse from Habakkuk where it says “The Lord God is my strength, my personal bravery and my invincible army.”

In Ruth 3:11 I read “And now my daughter, fear not. I will do for you all you require, for all my people in the city know that you are a women of strength/worth, bravery, capability.”

Gosh, it is amazing to think that God is fighting just for me and that I need not fear because He is going to work it all out? I have a dear friend who every time I have an appointment lights a candle for me and sends this scripture “Be not afraid, neither be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go” (Joshua 1:6).

I have had a lot of appointments so I have had this text many times and it is always a comfort.

I have decided to really hold onto those Bible verses that tell me to be brave, be strong, to be of good courage. It is good to be reminded that He is with us during these times.

Prayer: Lord thank You that are fighting for me that You give me all that I require each day. Help me to hold on to You and to remember that You are my personal bravery and invincible army. Amen.

About the author:
Debs Edwards lives in South Wales, UK with her husband Simon and her two children aged 9 and 14. Debs has had fibromyalgia and photo aggravated rosacea for 18 months. She is able to continue to work on a part-time basis as a health researcher for 2 days a week at Cardiff University. After being a busy person for as long as she can remember it has taken her a while to adjust to having to slow down and to allow herself to rest when she needs to. She is enjoying spending more time with her family and is so thankful to God that she has been able to enjoy a deeper relationship with Him through her illness.

Are you going through a difficult time and need to be reminded that God can make you brave? Are you struggling with trying to find the right medication? Do you lie awake at night and cry out to God? Remember that God promises to be your personal bravery and invincible army.

Debs thought you would enjoy this song, “You Make Me Brave” with Bethel Music and Amanda Cook. Thank goodness we have a God who adore giving us His strength, who delights in giving us courage. Stay strong! You have the power of the Holy One holding you up. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

