Enduring The Seasons of Suffering

suffering.When the suffering seems without purpose doesn’t it make it harder to hold on? Dorothea shares.
“Nevertheless, each person should live as a believer in whatever situation the Lord has assigned to them, just as God has called them. This is the rule I lay down in all the churches” (1 Corinthians 7:17).

I read a devotion by Billy Graham that talked about suffering and pain, and how we don’t always understand why we must endure these hardships of life. He said, “God has a higher purpose and goal in plan–the same can be said for our suffering.”

That quote touched me and made me stop and consider this stage of my life. It seems like it is so easy to be judged or criticized for our suffering. But, Dr. Graham’s quote made me wonder how many of us are ever encouraged to live out God’s assignment for our lives, especially when pain and illness are involved.

And when I read today’s verse I find a renewed sense of hope, especially during this new season of pain and uncertainty. I cling to God, praying for courage, searching the Word for comfort, and asking God to help me trust Him. To find peace in spite of the daunting tests ahead of me.

I want to surrender my definition of healing and wholeness and my desire for relief and just accept His plan for me. Some days are easier than others, but I fight to maintain my trust in Him and to defeat my fears.

I know He is at work, filling my heart with compassion for others; turning my mind to intercession instead of judgment; and my words to encouragement instead of criticism. As I allow Him to be magnified in my life, I’m gaining wisdom, a deeper faith, and peace that can only be found in His shelter.

I don’t look forward to the unknown, but I know that as I walk this path, God will lead me, guide me, and even carry me, if necessary. My job is to trust Him through it all and rest in His care.

Prayer: Father, please help us when we are at our weakest. Teach us to rely on You. Give us courage and strength to keep going. Let us accept our assignment with peace, knowing that Your plan for our lives is greater than we can imagine. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Norman. They are the parents of two adult children. She has lived with chronic illness and pain for over 30 years. She knows she must rely on God’s grace to strengthen her whenever she faces a challenge. She invites you to read some of her other work on her blog: http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

How have you found God at work in the midst of a painful time or a season of suffering? Do these moments get you through the next season of suffering, recalling how God was faithful to give your pain a purpose?

This song has some beautiful lyrics I think you will relate to easily. It is Dorothy Savage signing “As Long As It Takes” and this refers to the time it takes to make our suffering redeemed. Hoping it blesses you today. There is so many amazing songs yet to be discovered that can speak to our hurting hearts. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

