Do You Feel a Bit Like a Seed in the Dark?

seedLoneliness and dark days can make us feel like a seedling that has been forgotten, but Shelly reminds us that He has grand plans for us to sprout when the time is right.

“He told them another parable: ‘The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed, which a man took and planted in his field. Though it is the smallest of all seeds, yet when it grows, it is the largest of garden plants and becomes a tree, so that the birds come and perch in its branches’” (Matthew 13:31-32).

My friend P.J. has a Mexican sunflower plant. She planted it with her boys as part of a homeschool project. It was just a bitty thing then–pretty, but bitty.

The other day she texted me that she was taking photos of her plant. She had to go up to the second floor balcony to do it.

Yeah. They’re that big now.

I have no doubt that the loving heart of the one who planted them is what has made this possible. That, plenty of time in the sun, and plenty of time–period.

Sometimes I feel like a small seed. The darkness that is chronic illness has covered me over and often feels suffocating. The downpour of pain drenches and soaks. I seem to be splitting from the loss and confusion and frustration that disability creates.

And so this verse brings me so much hope. So does P.J.

Because of the loving heart of the One who planted me here, I will become the largest of plants. Due to the Son I bask in, I will grow into a tree. In time, birds will come and make their nests in my branches.

And so I snuggle down into the soil around me. I wait for the promise that God has hidden inside me to be fulfilled. I trust.

Prayer: Dear God, thank You for friends like P.J. Thank You for plants that grow up to balcony level and bloom with pretty blossoms that beg to be recorded. You give us hope in the most beautiful ways. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012, followed by a revision in 2014, and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What natural beauty reminds you of what God is doing in your darkness?

This is the song “Learning to Breathe” by Switchfoot and Shelly recommended it.

Leave a Reply

