My Life With Illness Is Like A Yo-Yo

yoyoEver feel like life just bumps you up and down through highs and lows? Fiona adds perspective.

“To Him who is able to keep you from falling and to present you before His glorious presence without fault and with great joy–to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power, and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen” (Jude 1:24-25).

One night when I’d got up for the umpteenth time because I couldn’t sleep–I thought, “my life is like a yo-yo.”

One day I’m optimistic that I’m feeling a bit better, then the next I may be feeling down about the fact that something else is happening, or that things are just not getting better.

It’s easy to get bogged down in thoughts like that–bouncing up and falling down, just like a yo-yo does. I guess it might be encouraging that most of the time the yo-yo does come back up again, but I hadn’t thought of that at the time.

Then I thought about this photo of me I’d shared with some people. It was taken years ago beside one of the huge mining trucks at an outback mine I’d visited. I recalled their comments on how big the truck was and how tiny I looked beside it.

yoyo2

I‘d remarked that despite how big the truck looked beside me, when you see them working deep in the open cut pits, they look like tiny toys from above.

Maybe that’s how God sees us–like those huge trucks that seem like tiny toys.

This can put perspective on our view of our problems–like my yo-yo. In God’s view our problems are so small–merely a blip, a second, or minute in light of eternity. God’s view of my bouncing yo-yo would be very different to my own view.

No-one disputes that living with a chronic illness, or even with someone who has one–is hard. There are plenty of ups and downs along the way.

Like the yo-yo in the control of someone’s hand–so God is in control of our ups and downs. He will keep us from falling out of His care. He understands and walks alongside us, through whatever happens.

Prayer: Father God, help me and those who read this, to keep our minds on You and the promises you’ve given us, rather than the negative thoughts we can focus on. Thank You that even when life may feel like it’s bouncing around like a yo-yo, You hold us in Your care and keep us from falling. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

What’s out of perspective in your view? Are you placing too much importance, or concern over something that may just bounce back–like the yo-yo–in time?

This is Kendall Payne singing “Ups and Downs.” The lyrics share how life does have many ups and downs (just like a yo yo!) but that it is better to have this then to hid from life entirely, trying to play it safe. She shares how we are just a symphony of notes and every life is music to the ears of God. Enjoy this lovely young lady. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

